Upgrading a Pegasus Promise RAID?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by allthingschris, Mar 11, 2012.

  1. allthingschris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    #1
    Has anybody had any experience upgrading the drives in a Pegasus Promise RAID?

    My current setup is the 6x2TB model, but I'm running low on space. I'm considering buying 4TB drives to replace each of the 2TB drives.

    1) The cheapest drives are Seagate 4TB external drives. But conceivably I could just take these drives out of their enclosures?

    2) The other alternative is 4TB Hitachi disks but they're considerably pricier.

    Any thoughts, feedback or advice? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #2
    Don't quote me, but I thought I read something somewhere about the R6 only being able to use up to 2TB disks to remain stable. Something about the firmware. I'm sure it will be addressed at some point.
     
  3. joaoferro37 macrumors 6502

    joaoferro37

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Vogon Planet Destructor
    #3
    I don't think Promise is using enterprise drive and if they really don't just get their cheap 4 bay TB RAID and swap out with Hitachi Enterprise drive.
    Don't take any chances on the RAID.
     
  4. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    I just checked the Promise compatibility list. They list only the Hitachi 1TB and 2TB drives at this time. They also state they only recommend enterprise class drives.
    Personally, I would not use consumer drives in a RAID array. Your most conservative next step would be to buy a second R6 and chain them. It would not be cheap... but if you have that much data, then something must give.

    A cheaper solution would be to get a cheap 3TB or 4TB usb drive an move some non-critical data (if any) to the slower devices.

    /Jim
     
  5. uvitor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Location:
    Brazil
    #5
    Anyone tried the new pegasus firmware with 3 or 4tb drives?
     
  6. dia3olik macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
  7. askbjoernhansen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #7
    The compatibility list now have a 3TB Seagate drive (ST3000DM001 in two different flavors).
     
  8. cinemaloha macrumors newbie

    cinemaloha

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Location:
    Online
    #8
  9. anais.leroux macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #9
    I am about to upgrade my Pegasus R6 drives too, and I want to reuse the old ones as individual drives (placed in a dock).
    But I am not sure how to do this.

    Should I go into the Promise Utility and change each physical drive's setting to "PassThru configuration", and then take them out ?
     

Share This Page