Upgrading a processor

Discussion in 'iMac' started by RootBeer2688, Jun 3, 2007.

  1. RootBeer2688 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    #1
    So I have an iMac g3 333 MHz computer, this has a 6GB harddrive, and 128mb of memory. As a present for doing well in school my dad baught me 512 mb in memory, and a 40GB harddrive to upgrade my computer. He doesn't seem to understand that even if I upgrade the memory and harddrive that it will still be slow as hell, and I dont be able to do much on it. Does anyone know of a way to upgrade the processor so that the money that my dad spent on me, wont be wasted because the processor is to outdated???

    Thanks
     
  2. classof2011 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Flying with American Airlines
    #3
    You'd have to send in the whole logic board to get the processor upgraded. There's a website I actually saw today about it. But since I do not have my iMac G3 yet and I am stuck with this Internet Explorer 7, so I do not know how to access the history and tell you which site it was.

    But it costs $199 for the upgrade

    $229 [?] for a whole new logic board with upgrade


    Just search around, maybe you'll find it.


    :apple:
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  4. classof2011 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Flying with American Airlines
    #5

    Nope. I think what I saw had the word "mac" or "imac" in the URL. I'm gonna go look for the History in IE7....
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Might as well buy a faster iMac G3 then. They're still dirt cheap and less then $199.

    I know that Daystar offers iMac G4 upgrades.
     
  6. erickkoch macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    Kalifornia
    #7
    You can upgrade the CPU, in theory, but the parts are discontued.

    Here

    However, at $299 I'm not sure it's worth it. I used this upgrade for my 233 Mhz iMac G3 years ago. It's not an upgrade for the faint of heart, you'll have to open up the computer and remove the motherboeard to do the CPU upgrade but if you're adverturous, go for it.

    At this point I wouldn't bother even if you find someone who still sells the cards. Salvage the HD by buying an external enclosure and using it as a backup drive. I don't know what you can do with the memory though. Good luck.
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    I just posted the link for that. If it's the 333 Mhz model then it'd be a better bet to just get a faster iMac then upgrade the processor. A 600 MHz slot loader goes for $130. I've seen 500 MHz models at $99 locally.

    Hopefully it's at least PC100 RAM.
     
  8. classof2011 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Flying with American Airlines
    #9
    The one I found is for Slot-Load iMacs.


    And guessing by his iMac's processor speed, it's a tray-load. The slot-loading processors started at 350MHz, if I'm correct.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    Now this is getting interesting. I doubt it'd be cheaper then buying a faster model though.
     
  10. classof2011 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Flying with American Airlines
    #11
    I bought a Graphite 400MHz with a 13GB HDD, 128MB RAM, OS X 10.2 for $100 :D


    But I'm upgrading it's RAM, HD, and OS X [to the specs listed in my sig] as soon as it arrives.
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    Just like a said cheap! Makes for a great guest or kid computer. :D
     
  12. classof2011 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Flying with American Airlines
    #13
    I'm not gonna use it too much, but maybe for the iLife apps.
     
  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    Kinda hard without a G4. At least for the newer versions of iLife.
     
  14. classof2011 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Flying with American Airlines
    #15
    Oh...well then maybe I should send it on in to FastMac.com and get it upgraded ;) :rolleyes:

    At least I think that's what they upgrade them to. I also saw a G3 on eBay that the seller had claimed to have upgraded it to a G4.
     
  15. RaMaz macrumors regular

    RaMaz

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
  16. kalisphoenix macrumors 65816

    kalisphoenix

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #17
    This computer, even with an upgraded CPU, RAM, hard drive, monitor, and optical drive, would be incapable of running a "Hello World!" application (coded in assembly) at a suitable rate of speed. Merely the fact that it was once labelled an iMac G3, even if every single speck of hardware from the original was replaced with updated gadgets and gizmos, would destroy your chances for happiness. The tray-loading iMacs were like, black holes for performance. Exorcise your room of this loathesome little critter now, preferably by turning it into a Macquarium. And may $DEITY have mercy on your soul.
     
  17. classof2011 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Flying with American Airlines
    #18



    LOL. Well I hope the slot-loading ones aren't black holes! :p


    And the Macquarium thing....more suited for a Cube. ;)
     
  18. WannaGoMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    #19
    Return all the upgrades and get the cash.

    then donate the G3 computer to a school and take the tax write-off

    Go buy a G5 on ebay.

    Done.
     

Share This Page