Upgrading cpu of 3.06 GHz 27" imac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by eeosman, Nov 29, 2009.

  1. eeosman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    #1
    is it possible to upgrade the processor of 27" imac. what kind of processor is 3.06GHz? is it desktop or mobile? What is its code number. if it is possible which processors are suitable? i want to replace with a 6 core i9 (32nm)?
     
  2. RKO macrumors 6502

    RKO

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #2
  3. Techhie macrumors 65816

    Techhie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    The hub of stupidity
    #3
    The processor in that computer is an E7600 (info) running on an LGA775 socket. The only upgrade path at the moment is to the slightly higher clocked 3.33 GHz model, though it would likely not be cost effective and would void warranty. As for the i9/i7/i5, no, they will physically not fit in the socket as they use LGA1366.
     
  4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    It is a socketed mobile Core2Duo, you can upgrade it to another faster one.

    But it is rather expensive and instantly voids your AppleCare.

    Really the best upgrade/economical upgrade for these mobile-based desktop has been to sell the machine and buy a new one.

    ---

    Basically for the $300 it would cost to bump up to the 3.33 Ghz and the cost of the loss of AppleCare -- you basically should have bought the i5 or i7.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    3.33ghz dual core is the fastest you can go im afraid.
     
  6. Techhie macrumors 65816

    Techhie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    The hub of stupidity
    #6
    unless you have time, and money (and a team of crazy Sweedish overclockers) :cool:
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    oh goodluck overclocking with EFI aye. ;)
     
  8. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #8
    YES, if you are with in your 14 day return period you can return it and buy the machine you should have in the first place (i5 or i7)....
     
  9. Techhie macrumors 65816

    Techhie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    The hub of stupidity
    #9
    now that is an upgrade path :p
     
  10. corvus32 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #10
  11. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #11
    Still run into about the same deal, you cannot upgrade the heatsink to go to a radically higher TDP than Apple has designed for, and Apple doesn't offer BIOS upgrades for new CPUs.

    The lack of BIOS updates are likely the largest drawback, keeping you from enjoying future CPUs in the same sockets.
     
  12. corvus32 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    I wasn't implying the processor is or is not upgradable.
     
  13. AlienSexGod macrumors member

    AlienSexGod

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #13
    Correct.
    This would likely work:
    QX9300 2.53Ghz Quad

    However even if EFi saw and allowed it in most cases the 3.33Ghz duo core would be a better option as most processing just require fast single or dual processing.

    This is why the i5 and i7 Lynnfield chips are so cool ... their single processor turbo mode can go up to 3.6Ghz and dual 3.46Ghz!

    http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=3634&p=5
     
  14. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    i dont think so. apple doesnt have any of those quads in their current/previous models so support would be limited at best. you cant just chop and change CPU even though the socket allows for it.
     
  15. 53x12 macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #15

Share This Page