Upgrading Display?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by This is Ryan, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. This is Ryan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    #1
    Hi everybody.

    I've recently purchased a new TV and want to use my old 27" Westinghouse LCD as my new computer monitor.

    I'm running a Dual 2.0 G5...is it as easy as just plugging in the monitor? Will it be supported?

    I tried searching this, but I couldn't get anything to come up. (Forgive me, I'm new).
     
  2. dante@sisna.com macrumors 6502a

    dante@sisna.com

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    #2
    You may need the included DVI to VGA adapter if your monitor does not have a DVI input.
     
  3. ODLAWMAC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #3
    Do u have any money to spare? I believe hooking up your display to your G5 will work with the right adapters. Seriously, i would consider upgrading to a faster system like the 24'' Imac for just $1700. I think you'll be allot happier running on intel and you'll get the best of both world an amazing 24" display and a screaming Machine!!!
     
  4. wallaby macrumors 6502

    wallaby

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa
    #4
    Depends on the TV...I plugged my MBP into my parents' new 720p TV, and it just seemed to work, with a few niggles. One, my Macbook Pro froze when I first plugged it into the TV :p (worked after a restart). Two, it displayed a 1024x768 image on the TV, which was 4:3 instead of the full 16:9 screen of the television. YMMV

    Off-topic :rolleyes:
     
  5. This is Ryan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for the advice, I hadn't thought about doing that.:p

    I'm actually overhauling my G5 with a new internal HD to boot Leopard from...and 3 gigs of new RAM...so I figured why not try a new display?
     

Share This Page