Upgrading Early 2008 Mac Pro CPU

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cjrustt, Aug 2, 2015.

1. cjrustt macrumors newbie

Hello, as the title states, I'd like to upgrade the CPU in my Early 2008 Mac Pro. Currently I'm running 2 Quad-Core Intel Xeon 2.6 GHz Processors, and I'd like to upgrade to something more suitable for gaming. I'm not very experienced in building/upgrading computers beyond RAM and Internal Hard drives so I'll be having a friend who's experienced with building computers running Windows helping me. Just looking for some suggestions on which Processors you'd recommend. I'm looking in the $40-80 range but willing to budge a little if it would make a big difference. Thanks for your help.

2. bladerunner2000 macrumors 68000

bladerunner2000

Lack of hyperthreading in those Mac Pros will create a bottleneck even with the highest specced CPUs. Moving to a 2009-2012 Mac Pro will fix that, but you're just buying old tech at this point thats soon going to be obsolete. If you wanna game, build a PC/Hackintosh.

3. Synchro3, Aug 2, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2015

Synchro3 macrumors 65816

Synchro3

I disagree. Six cores will be used by more games in the future. E.g. GTA V plays smooth on my cMP with six core W3690 CPU: http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...-drivers-over-clocking.1882500/#post-21294414
    A lot of games are using six cores of the PlayStation and will be ported to PC.

Quad core i7 even oc'ed to 4 GHz is not better than six core Xeon W3690/X5690. It's no more only the single core performance that counts.

Also note the Direct X 12 topic: http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/bad-performance-on-mp-3-1-with-gtx-970.1904942/#post-21661318

4. Wardenski, Aug 2, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2015

Wardenski macrumors 6502

I don't think there is much you can do to a 3.1. The fastest processor I think is 3.2 Ghz but it doesn't compare well to even i3/i5/i7 of today from a gaming perspective.