Upgrading from 10.9.5 to 10.13 on a 2013 rMBP

Discussion in 'macOS' started by steiney, Sep 22, 2017.

  1. steiney macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #1
    I'm planning to upgrade 10.9.5 to 10.13 when it releases. Is there any problem with this, considering I'm jumping over three operating systems in between? I just want to make sure I don't need to go through any intermediate steps due to being on such on old OS version.

    Thanks in advance for any help!
     
  2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #2
    Not enough information. Need to post your Mac's specs, when it was built.

    Problems may crop up with some non-Apple software, causing you to have to purchase newer versions.

    No issue with the OS skipping over intermediate versions, as long as your Mac can handle it.
     
  3. EugW macrumors 603

    EugW

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    #3
    Since you already have SSD, you're good there.

    4 GB isn't very good, but 8 GB is good.

    I'm curious though, why still on 10.9?
     
  4. steiney thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #4
    It's a 2.6 GHz C2D with 16 GB of RAM and the upgraded graphics, 2 GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M. Is there a way to go through all the updates in order to avoid the compatibility issue?

    I'm just a schmuck. That's all. I really like the more classic OS X look, so when they took a sharp departure from that design in 10.10, I stayed on 10.9, and also because I didn't really need anything that 10.10 offered. But now here I am several OSes behind, and I just upgraded from in iPhone 5 on iOS 6 to an iPhone SE on iOS 11, and I want to be able to use the continuity features and handoff, etc.

    I've got 16 GBs, if you didn't see above.
     
  5. EugW macrumors 603

    EugW

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    #5
    That's quite the upgrade. :D
     
  6. steiney thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #6
    It feels like I've time-traveled! The guts of the SE are technically two years old, but the OS is brand new and the two work together beautifully.
     
  7. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #7
    It's dependent on the software you have. If it is too old, it might not work with a newer OS.
     

Share This Page

6 September 22, 2017