Upgrading from a disk image?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by macswitcha2, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. macswitcha2 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #1
    In doing a fresh install of OS X Tiger on my emac, can it be done by a disk image of Tiger or do I have to use the CDs? Reason being the CD thingy is not working.

    Or, do I have to sacrifice the fresh install and use a USB Drive to upgrade it?
     
  2. CJS7070 macrumors 6502a

    CJS7070

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    I believe you need to use a CD as there is no way to keep the disk image mounted throughout the installation process.
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    The CD has to be used, how should the eMac read from the .dmg anyway without an OS.

    Try Target Disk Mode with one of your other Macs and try to have access to the other Mac's DVD drive.
     
  4. macswitcha2 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #4

    That is if I do a clean install right? But, can I mount a disk image to the current OS X in my eMac and upgrade from there?

    In any case, I like the Target Disk Mode suggestion.
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    No, as the Mac OS X has to restart and boot into the installer.

    To use TDM, it would be best to use the iMac or MBP in TDM and use the optical drives in there.
    If you use the eMac in TDM the iMac and MBP will not boot from an old Tiger DVD.
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    you might be able to boot from a flash drive? if you put the installer on there.
     
  7. macswitcha2 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #7
    Understood...thanks...so in other words, using TDM, my iMac's drive will function as the eMac's drive correct?
     
  8. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
    As far as I experienced it, YES.

    Try it.
     
  9. macswitcha2 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #9

    How would I be able to put the installer on the FlashDrive?
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    that is also my understanding of it too :)
     

Share This Page