Upgrading from MBP 13" mid-2010 model

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jdong217, Aug 27, 2012.

1. jdong217 macrumors newbie

Reason for upgrading is that my current MBP is just too slow. Also, my old one is having some issues with battery life, freezing, etc. though admittedly I haven't treated it too well. I'm a college student (engineering and computation math major) and often have a lot of software running at once. I also have virutalbox with Ubuntu running in the background quite often, for better or for worse

I'm also pretty passionate about photography and use CS5 and LightRoom pretty frequently.

Previous model I had 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3.

I'm still looking at the 13" model since I think it's the perfect size, especially since I'm lugging it everywhere. I've played with a friend's 15" before and carried it around for a day and it was surprisingly heavy. Anyway:
    -2.9GHz Dual-core Intel Core i7
    -8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM
    -1TB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400

I'm not too savvy with computer hardware, so does this seem like it'll suit my needs?

2. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

Orlandoech

yes it will. I highly recommend avoiding getting RAM and HDD upgrades from Apple as they are overpriced.

I highly recommend getting 16GB 1600MHz Ram ($99ish) and an SSD (240-256GB $180-200ish) and installing them yourself. You could throw the stock HDD in the Optibay and this would be a screaming 13".

3. ivoruest macrumors 6502

ivoruest

Previous post is correct. But also I suggest you give a try to the Retina Macbook Pro. It should be stunning for photo editing and weight is less than normal 15" MBP. The only drawback is the price. But you won't loose anything by trying it on any Apple Store.

4. Acorn macrumors 68020

Acorn

I dont think now is a good buy with rumors of a retina macbook pro in octoberish. he would buy it then be outdated 2 months later. plus if hes passionate about photography the updated screen is worth waiting for