Upgrading from PowerPC G5 Mac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by wacomme, Jun 8, 2010.

1. wacomme macrumors regular

I have a Power PC G5 Mac. I have a beautiful NEC 30" Hi-rez external monitor (photographer - side business). I have several e-sata external drives. I'm a K-12 teacher. I have a PC laptop through my school district.

I want to upgrade to an Intel machine. I don't want to spend an arm and a leg for a new home/photo business computer. I want to use my 30" monitor and would prefer to keep my e-sata external enclosures (if possible).

Mac Pros appear to fit my needs but they're so expensive. I don't really need another laptop. I've read the iMac has the biggest bang for the buck, but I don't need a monitor, though I could perhaps use it as a second monitor (correct?). The Mini doesn't satisfy my e-sata wishes and I don't know if it will support my monitor nor adequately support Photoshop and Aperture.

So, which computer should I buy and why?

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

The Mac Pro is the only desktop Mac with eSATA port capability, the 17" MBP can be updated to have eSATA ports via an ExpressCard.

Maybe have a look into the refurbished section of the Apple Online Store.

Example.

3. wacomme thread starter macrumors regular

Does the SD Slot on the iMac support an e-sata card?

4. wacomme thread starter macrumors regular

$2800!!!! Yikes.

5. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

No, as eSATA cards are something else.

SD card

[​IMG]

eSATA card
    [​IMG]

6. brayden8181 macrumors newbie