Upgrading from Windows XP to Home Premium

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by stovetop6872, Jun 15, 2008.

  1. stovetop6872 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #1
    If I buy the Windows Vista Home Premium UPGRADE (with SP1), will this work with fusion. I already have Windows XP Pro installed and working properly. So will the upgrade work? I ran the "Windows Vista Upgrade Advisory Tool" and it said my video card is not sufficient. I'd like to run Windows Aero and all of Windows Vista's features. I have a 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro with 128 MB Video RAM and 4 GB of RAM. Thanks in advance. :apple:
     
  2. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #2
    The same requirements exist for Fusion as for Boot Camp. The Vista DVD must be a full install version. As for Aero, a MacBook with the GMA X3100 Intel Chip runs Aero just fine, your Pro will too.

    Check out prices for a full install OEM version of Vista Home Premium at either "Pricegrabber" or "Pricewatch". I've seen copies for sale less than $100.00.

    Regards.
     
  3. stovetop6872 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #3
    Hi, I know that you need a full install to do it clean, but if I have Windows XP PRO already installed, can I upgrade from this with my Home Premium DVD? XP Pro is already installed so will this work? Thank you for your time.
     
  4. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #4
    To be honest it would be much simpler and less troublesome for you to drag your files from Windows to OS X, then just buy the OEM version ($100), then do a full install.

    Why do you want Vista in a Virtual Machine anyway? Vista only software? Other than that its worth just sticking with XP.
     
  5. stovetop6872 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #5
    Does anyone else have any other suggestions? Thanks
     
  6. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #6
    You can not upgrade XP Pro to Vista Home Premium in Fusion by using an upgrade version of Vista. (Just as you can not do an upgrade in Boot Camp).

    And... I'm not certain if a full install version of Vista Home Premium would work in Fusion to do an upgrade of XP Pro to Vista. That's a question you might want to ask in the Fusion Public Forums. Sorry I can't be of more help.

    Regards.
     

Share This Page