Upgrading G5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Nitro1, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. Nitro1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #1
    My Roommate has a G5 and we are wondering if it is possible to upgrade the G5 to an Intel. We are very computer savvy and can handle anything but i am unsure if they make the new motherboards and other parts capable of fitting into the G5 case.

    ANy help

    Thanks.
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    The G5 uses standard ATX motherboard sockets, its pretty easy to upgrade. You will have to upgraded everything include motherboard, ram, CPU and most likely the psu. Everything should fit ok :)
     
  3. Darwin macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #3
    You'd be better off getting a Mac Pro second hand personally.
     
  4. mgartner0622 macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #4
    +1.

    By the time you spend all the money on what you need to upgrade that G5, you'll be near, if not over the cost of a secondhand Mac Pro. Keep in mind Motherboards run 5-700 depending on the model. The processors are quite expensive too.
     
  5. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #5
    $500-$700 for a motherboard???? You're kidding right? You can find i7 supporting Gigabyte boards for less than $200 and Core 2 Duo boards for less than $100 that will work as hackintosh boards.
     
  6. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #6

    not if they come from apple ..and that was what i think he was what he meant
    you get a decent pc with same spec for what apple is charging for a logicboard alone
     

Share This Page