upgrading hard drive, have questions

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by 0makol16, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. 0makol16 macrumors regular

    0makol16

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    Diamond Bar, California
    #1
    Hi there, I'm planning on upgrading my hard drive to a 320gb from Western Digital from the default 160gb that came with my MacBook. I have some programs on my current hard drive that use cd keys that can be only used x amount of times and some them are used up, for example Microsoft Office 2008 can only be installed on 3 computers and its currently on 3 computer (mine, my dad's, and my brothers) I don't have a Time Machine or an external hard drive to back up all my files and programs to and I don't want to spend money on stuff for that. What should I do? Sorry if this sounds confusing if you want me to explain more I can.
     
  2. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #2
    Buying a cheap external enclosure will allow you to clone the drive with SuperDuper and allow you to store your important data on the old drive.

    Data is priceless, don't cheap out by not backing up.
     
  3. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Newegg.com sells cheap 2.5in hard drive enclosures.
     
  4. 0makol16 thread starter macrumors regular

    0makol16

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    Diamond Bar, California
  5. 0makol16 thread starter macrumors regular

    0makol16

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    Diamond Bar, California
    #6
  6. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #7
    1) Put the new drive in the enclosure
    2) Clone your old hard drive to the new drive
    3) Install the new drive
    4) Place the old drive in the enclosure and format it and use as a regular external (Optional).
    5) Enjoy!
     
  7. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #8
    If you leave Mac OSX on it, you can still boot into it if you wanted to. If you saved it for a few months, you could boot back into it later and see what your computer was like then :p
     
  8. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #9
    http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/SuperDuperDescription.html

    Use this program to clone your hard drive.
     
  9. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #10
  10. guydude193 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    MI
    #11
    :eek: The true Time Machine!!
     
  11. 0makol16 thread starter macrumors regular

    0makol16

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    Diamond Bar, California
    #12
    Ok I think I will do this and use that SuperDuper thing to clone my hard drive. Thank you to everyone that helped!
     
  12. john2006wright macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Just to add, I upgraded the HD inside my macbook and I used SuperDuper. Its really easy to swap the hard drives and the free version of Superduper worked perectly (and I'm not very experienced with computers). You'll be suprised at how simple the whole process is (unlike Time machine, install disks, migration assistant etc etc.)

    john
     

Share This Page