Upgrading hard drive in Macbook, do I NEED to clone my hard drive?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DeathChill, Apr 14, 2007.

  1. DeathChill macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    #1
    Well, I'm upgrading my hard drive in my Macbook to a 100 GB and I have nothing on my current 60 GB hard drive that I want to copy over. However, every guide I've seen talks about copying over the hard drive contents (via Carbon CC or whatever) and I was curious if this was just for the information or if it was required (due to the EFI partition or anything like that).
     
  2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    i don't think its necessary. but you'll have to install OS X from scratch before you can do anything with it.

    then again, i could be wrong too.
     
  3. island macrumors 6502

    island

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #3
    Clone it or just start from scratch, either way it will work.
     
  4. LeggNet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    #4
    When I upgraded my drive, I used SUPER DUPER (backup program) to clone the drive and then restored it to the new drive. Simple and painless.

    hth... Rich
     
  5. MacDann macrumors 6502a

    MacDann

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Location:
    Can see the end of the Earth from here
    #5
    I did much the same, only I used Drive Genius. I double-checked things by booting from the cloned drive when it had been copied to my external FW drive. That way I know it's not goobered up.

    I also ran Disk Utility and erased the new drive and wrote zeros on it after partitioning. The only reason I did this is that I had an instance in the past where all I did was partition the new drive and I had issues with invalid nodes after I moved the cloned drive back.

    MD
     
  6. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #6
    I second that. It's a piece of cake. Super Duper is great. Cloning just means you don't have to deal with reinstalling/setting up everything. Much quicker to clone.
     
  7. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #7
    You do not need to clone your drive. It is usually suggested because it is the easiest way to keep all of your data and settings the same as they currently are.

    There is no problem with replacing the drive, sticking in your OS X restore discs and installing OS X straight onto the fresh drive.
     

Share This Page