upgrading hard drive ... is that possible??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Dr.Zizooo, Mar 12, 2008.

  1. Dr.Zizooo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #1
    Hi ..... I have an iMac 20 inch with 320 Gb Hard Drive and I want to upgrade it to 500 Gb or more! Is that possible? If yes Where can I upgrade it? and How much Would it cost?

    thanks in advance .....:eek:
     
  2. finfloyd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    #2
  3. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #3
    Yes you can upgrade it as for cost here are some prices.

    500GB

    750GB

    1TB

    However, I do not know if this is considered a user upgradeable part by Apple, if not then you can potentially void the warranty. Someone else here ought to know. If it is not user upgradeable you can always buy the drive then bring the iMac and Hard Drive to an Apple Authorized Service Center and get the install done by them.

    I would also consider an external enclosure for your current hard drive to use for large file transportation and backups.

    Firewire 400

    Firewire 800
     
  4. Dr.Zizooo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #4
    Brother ..... this is what i needed! so perfect! thank you so much probably i will go with the 1Tb ....... thanks again and agian .... :apple:
     
  5. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
  6. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #6
    Some other enclosure alternatives. Check out the customer comments on
    Newegg.com and google some online reports -- nothin' but rave reviews:

    USB/FW400 enclosure @ $45

    USB/FW800 enclosure @ $70

    The FW800 model works fine on FW400 -- use a 9-pin to 6-pin cable.

    I have one of each; best quality enclosure's I've ever owned or seen,
    and the quick-swap drive trays are extremely handy. Assembly is a
    snap -- 4 screws and slide it in. No need to open the case, no fiddling
    with cables or connectors.

    LK
     
  7. crobbins macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    Colorado
    #7
    Be warned..it's not necessarily the hardest job I've ever done, but it was definitely not the quickest process upgrading my HDD in a 20inch iMac. I too wanted a 500 instead of 320, all in all I would say I don't regret it, but I know it does void the warranty.
     
  8. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #8
    Yes, the HD is upgradable, and as I have heard, even so is the processor!

    BUT -- the process of upgrading the iMac HD is a bitch. Basically the only easy "user-upgradable" thing in the iMac is the RAM, which is accessible via the lower panel, and a small Torx 1/6 size driver.

    The MacBook Pro HD upgrade is also a bitch. The only "easy-install" Macs (as far as HD upgrades) go is the MacBook (regular) and the Mac Pro...and the xserve if you count that. The Mini is hard to get into for upgrading.

    The original 1998-2001 style iMacs (CRT display) were pretty easy to upgrade, although the RAM upgrade was a bit tricky. You had to get all the internal cables unhooked, rehooked, and tucked away right. Today's machines (Macs) are designed so that just the items that Apple wants you to be able to upgrade are accessible (for example RAM, HDs, and PCI cards in the Mac Pro). The CPUs on those machines are upgradable as well, but installation is a bit of a mess if you screw up.

    But, yes, all of the iMacs have had upgradable drives. If it uses a standard size and it plugs into the board, then you can upgrade it. An iPod touch could not be upgraded, because the Flash memory storage is a part of the chip.

    ok, I am tired now.
     
  9. Dr.Zizooo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #9
    thanks bro for your help ... and i will have a lot of fun with the new HD;)
     
  10. Dr.Zizooo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #10

    Do you mean that I get the enclosure for the old HD and use it as external HD?

    thanks in advance .:)
     
  11. Dr.Zizooo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #11
    well brother ... the computer is running fine and everything is good, all i needed is bigger space for movies and music and pictures! the warranty is no big deal for me, cuz i have the best buy warranty and they have no problem upgrading parts of the iMac and also the warranty with best buy is until 2011. :) thanks for your response brother ... well appreciated :)
     
  12. Dr.Zizooo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #12

    WoW this is great sum of info!! I learned a lot man a lot! really great information. can't tell you how surprised I were reading all this info ....

    Thanks You so Much .... So So Much .... I really appreciate every single letter you wrote!

    thanks again bro ..... :)
     
  13. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #13
    Either way. Upgrade the internal drive and put the old one in an enclosure,
    or leave the internal as-is and put the new drive in the external enclosure.

    A new fast internal (any Seagate 7200.11 series or the WD7500AAKS)
    would give the best performance, but it's more work. I'd stay away from
    Hitachi internals, they tend to run hot -- and the ALU iMacs are hot already.

    LK
     
  14. Dr.Zizooo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #14
    sounds convincing :) thanx a lot bro ...
     

Share This Page