Upgrading hard drive on a Macbook......

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by izhkabam82, Mar 29, 2009.

1. izhkabam82 macrumors newbie

izhkabam82

Hey all, I'm pretty new to this whole mac experience, but from what I've experienced thus far I've got to say, I love it. I have one question though, I bought my macbook from an apple retailer, and I didn't have the money to buy one of the other macbooks with a bigger hard drive, and so I'm stuck with a smaller hard drive. I have an external drive but I'm trying to steer away from using it all the time since I'm planning on using that for backing up my macbook with time machine.

Sorry...too much typing, anyway, I guess I have two questions (and most likely stupid ones, but again I'm new:D )

1. is it possible to get a hard drive upgrade from either a certified apple dealer, or from apple themselves? or to do it myself?

2. if the whole hard drive thing is possible, is it also possible to put my time machine backup on the new hard drive since it was put on an external hard drive before I did the upgrade?

2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Yes to all of the above. Your MacBook will work with any 2.5" SATA hard drive, so go nuts.

Yes. Alternatively, you can use Carbon Copy Cloner to create a bootable backup on the external, then clone back when you're done.

Oh, and welcome. :)

3. izhkabam82 thread starter macrumors newbie

izhkabam82

Thanks for the welcome, and thanks for the information.

It was very helpful, I'll be putting it to good use in the next month or so.

4. rhythmac macrumors 6502

rhythmac

Its Very Easy

I upgraded my hard drive with an extremely quiet Seagate Momentus 500GB @7200RPM drive...( I am using the OEM drive in an enclosure making it an external drive!)

There are tutorials on youtube and OWC;