Upgrading HD

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by h4mmer34, Jan 7, 2011.

  1. h4mmer34 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    #1
    The capacity of my HD is only 120gb which is Nothing since i want to make a windows partition for gaming. What type of internal HD do i need and whats the biggest i can get? I have a Macbook5,2.
     
  2. Mutinygraphiks macrumors regular

    Mutinygraphiks

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #2
    you can get 1TB but it has to be a 2.5" notebook HDD.:)
     
  3. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #4
  4. Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

    Quad5Ny

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #5
  5. Jony Mac macrumors 6502

    Jony Mac

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    I was wondering too what is the largest HDD a late 09 unibody MacBook could handle. Indidnt know if I went 500gb or larger if heat would have a play into this.
     
  6. Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

    Quad5Ny

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #7
    While larger hard drives sometimes have more spinning platters, I doubt any drive you pick today will run hotter than their smaller (sized) counterparts. So don't worry about heat. =)

    Now as for physical size, you can only get a drive that's 9.5mm or thinner. I think some of the 1 TB drives are 12.5mm and thus wont fit into the MacBook.


    I just checked WD's (Western Digital) spec sheet, and I was right. The 1 TB Scorpio Blue is 12.5mm thick, the rest of the drives are 9.5mm. So if you want a WD drive choose a 750 GB or smaller one.
     
  7. Jony Mac macrumors 6502

    Jony Mac

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    cool, I have a 250GB now so a 500GB or 640 would be good. I still have 100GB free now tho. Maybe going to 4GB of ram would be a better move for now.
     
  8. Jony Mac macrumors 6502

    Jony Mac

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    Hmm anything I need to watch for in regards to the sudden motion sensor, or will any HDD do fine
     
  9. Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

    Quad5Ny

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #10
    The 4GB of RAM upgrade is definitely something you won't regret. If you still have 100GB of free space, go with the RAM.

    They will usually say if it has the sudden motion sensor on the product page. I don't think any of the WD Scorpio Blue's have the Motion sensor. But some of the Black's might.
     
  10. Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

    Quad5Ny

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #11
  11. Jony Mac macrumors 6502

    Jony Mac

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    That's good to know.
     

Share This Page