Upgrading HDD to 2T

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Shortfuse01, Nov 6, 2015.

  1. Shortfuse01, Nov 6, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2015

    Shortfuse01 macrumors newbie

    Shortfuse01

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    #1
    I am upgrading the HDDs in all our computers. I had no problem cloning (Acronis True Image) the PC, installing HDD and copying everything, including OS to new drive......Now on the MacBookPro I seem to not have the same options on the Acronis True Image software (same software, bought 3 computer "PC & Mac"). There is a backup option but no cloning option. I am afraid if I only do backup it will not do the iOS. Any help will be appreciated.

    Update - I did the backup and the computer will not recognize the external drive it's on.
     
  2. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #2
    Guess it doesn't clone then.

    Good job there is Carbon Copy Cloner which you can use on a free trial for this, it WILL clone the entire drive and the recovery partition too. Highly recommended.
     
  3. Shortfuse01 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Shortfuse01

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    #3
    Thank you I will try that......I guess I just wasted my money!
     
  4. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #4
    Well you still used it for the PC so not all bad - sorry I have no idea whether better options were available for the PC platform to clone.
     

Share This Page