Upgrading iMac HD @ The Apple Store

Discussion in 'iMac' started by FortWorthMac, Jul 27, 2009.

  1. FortWorthMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #1
    This is probably a stupid question, but can one upgrade one's HD at The Apple Store?

    I "only" have a 250GB drive in my iMac and would really like the new TB drive as I'm getting a little tight on storage space.

    Is that something they'll do and if so, do they charge an arm and a leg?

    Thanks
     
  2. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #2
    They charge your whole body.

    I don't know, call you local Apple store and see if they can upgrade your hard drive and maybe give you a price.
     
  3. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #3
    its not that hard of an upgrade, but im sure they will charge u an arm and a leg, and a foot, and some $. are there any other authorized apple service places in ur area?
     
  4. Jack Flash macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #4
    AFAIK Apple doesn't do HDD upgrades at the Apple Store.
     
  5. fr4c macrumors 65816

    fr4c

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    Hamster wheel
    #5
    Apple does not do any HD upgrades in store, it has always been a BTO option for online orders only. The only HD upgrade they sell are the HD's for the Mac Pro for more internal storage in bays 2,3, or 4.
     
  6. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #6
    I can confirm that the Apple Store does not do upgrades. That is their policy but I've known a few people who were in good standing with the Genius Bar and they did it. You can try to ask but there is a good chance that you will receive no as an answer.
     
  7. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #7
    Just get an external hard drive man. It is quite involved in swapping drives on the iMacs from what I have seen.
     
  8. FortWorthMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #8
    Thanks all.

    I've got a 1TB External but it's setup as my Time Machine drive. I guess as cheap as they are I may just get another specifically for storage.

    Regards
    David
     

Share This Page