Upgrading iMac RAM: Cannot remove existing chip

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DominusNovus, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. DominusNovus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #1
    I have an '07 24" 2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo 1GB iMac. I am attempting to upgrade the Ram from 1GB to 4GB (2x2GB chips). Upon opening up the bottom of the case, as per the instructions on Apple's website, I find that I cannot remove the chip that is already in the machine. I was able to successfully install one of the 2GB chips, and the iMac is running smoothly with it in and registers as now having 3GB of RAM.

    When I pull on the tab holding in place the existing chip, nothing happens. I have looked up several guides online, which say that tugging harder will not help. Further, in the video guides I've seen, the user has had no difficulty in removing the chip with a simple pull of the tab. The new chip I have put in comes out easily by pulling on the tab.

    So, anyone have any suggestions? I can cope with 3GB for awhile, of course, but I'd like to be able to take full advantage of my investment.
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    Try pulling the chip out without the ribbon. You could even try rubber tipped pliers.

    TEG
     
  3. DominusNovus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #3
    I'm nervous to do that, and don't particularly have anything I think would fit in around the chip. My fingers certainly can't fit in there (and I did try pulling it out with just my fingers).
     
  4. MaxBeagleton macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #4
    give the ribbon another try.

    There may be some slight oxidation, or more like, dust, building up on the conducting edge. Try pushing it in to help break it loose, then pulling it straight out with the ribbon. I just finished upgrading my new i7 from 2x2G to 4x4G and having never done this before, I though I was going to break the ribbon. I think it's make of Kapton (a polyimide) so it's pretty tough!
     
  5. DominusNovus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #5
    I'll try pushing it in, but I did attempt that, as well, before. I've also tried to, as delicately as possible, keep the area clean with an air can, so hopefully, there's not too much built up around it.

    Honestly, I'm pretty I can't keep a tight enough grip on the ribbon to be able to break it in the first place, haha.
     

Share This Page