Upgrading latest iMac 27" 5K retina from 8Gb to 16Gb

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Chris Sutton, Jul 1, 2015.

  1. Chris Sutton macrumors newbie

    Chris Sutton

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    #1
    Hello,

    Can anyone tell me the right memory modules to buy to upgrade the latest (mid 2015) iMac Retina 5K from 8Gb to 16Gb total memory ?

    From any company so long as reliable.

    I presume it currently has 2 x 4Gb modules. So presumably I need to replace them with 2 x 8Gb modules ? ....but I am not sure which type or model.


    Is there a memory module known to work flawlessly with it ??


    ....and the approx. cost ??


    Thanks
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    It takes 204-pin (laptop style) 1600 MHz DDR3 RAM, and Crucial is generally the brand I recommend since it has worked fine for me and is known to be fairly reliable.

    Actually, you can add to the 8 GB RAM already there since it has 4 slots and two of them are empty.
     
  3. Glockworkorange macrumors regular

    Glockworkorange

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #3
    Now I want to say it came 4 x 4 and I switched to 8 x 8. I don't remember. I do have 16 that I ordered from OWC. no issues. Great machine. Buy it, especially because the low end model last year is now the default high end model.
     
  4. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #4
    It would actually be better to go with the low-end late 2014, or at least a Fusion drive in the mid 2015.
    Mine came with 2x4 GB.
     
  5. Glockworkorange macrumors regular

    Glockworkorange

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #5
    That's accurate. Now that I consider, I had two sticks, 4 bricks each. I then ordered two sticks at 8 bricks. Sorry for the confusion.
     
  6. Chris Sutton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Chris Sutton

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    #6
    I've heard that it's not good to mix Apple RAM with other RAM due to some kind of compatibility issue but don't know much more than that
     
  7. Chris Sutton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Chris Sutton

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    #7
    I've heard that it's not good to mix Apple RAM with other RAM due to some kind of compatibility issue but don't know much more than that
     
  8. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #8
    It's fine to add to the Apple RAM, as long as the new RAM has the same specs. This is what I did with mine, and I haven't had any issues with it.
     
  9. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #9
    Fortunately you heard wrong. However ONLY install high quality RAM in your iMac. Most experienced users only use Crucial (buy direct) or OWC (www.macsales.com) due to their high quality. I can never understand why someone would spend $2K or more on a computer and then look for the cheapest possible RAM to install in it.
     
  10. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #10
    This is true of Crucial memory. I mixed with Crucial and it caused the sleep/wake to fail. I bought 16GB OWC and the problem is gone. I have seen that those that replaced all chips with Cruicial ones appear to not have issues.
     
  11. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #11
    Wrong. And if you search the net you will find many people complaining about the Crucial chips they bought from Amazon messing up the iMac 5K.
     
  12. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #12
     
  13. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #13
    Can you prove they did not. Really?

    I suggest to visit crucial's own blog/forums. Many reports there say the same thing. OWC memory, no issue. Kingston, no issue. Crucial, issue.
     
  14. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #14
    Again, I haven't had any issues with mine. There is of course the occasional defective RAM that can come from any manufacturer, but it's pretty rare.
     
  15. Jim L macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    The Piedmont, NC
    #15
    Now you guys have got me worried. I ordered these from Amazon and they're Crucial:

    Crucial 8GB Kit (4GBx2) DDR3/DDR3L 1600 MT/s (PC3-12800) CL11 204-Pin SODIMM Memory for Mac CT2K4G3S160BM / CT2C4G3S160BM

    So if they're no good, I'll have to send it back. Will it hurt our Mac if we put it in to check? Will it burn it out or anything?:eek:
     
  16. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #16
    The worst that can happen is kernel panics when the defective RAM is installed, it's very unlikely to cause any permanent damage. I wouldn't worry about it, and defective RAM is rare so it'll probably work just fine.
     
  17. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #17
    Much as I don't want to say it. You don't matter. There are tons of posts complaining about Crucial chips and the 5K. I don't know what you installed so I cannot comment further about you.

    Mixing Crucial and Apple seems to be an issue, though some using 4 Crucial chips also have issues. Amazon is selling what is supposed to be the right part. Here is a link, does it match what you have?

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008LTBJFW?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00

    Are you sure that if you let your machine sleep for 15 to 20 min, you can wake it up? Make sure your settings don't prevent sleep.
     
  18. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #18
    My experience with mixing Apple and Crucial RAM in my iMac 5K has been a positive one, and my experience matters as much as anyone else's.

    Yes, that would be the one, although the price has come down quite a bit since I bought it when the Retina iMac first launched.

    Yes, it wakes from sleep just fine.
     
  19. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #19
    Lucky you then.
    Your experience would matter if there weren't so many that had trouble including me.
    OP and everyone else I suggest you avoid the possible trouble and get the OWC chips.
     
  20. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #20
    Sorry to hear your experience has been a negative one. I'm assuming you exchanged the defective RAM for new RAM and the result was the same?
     
  21. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
  22. garyrh66 macrumors newbie

    garyrh66

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    #22
    Apple and Crucial were ok match in my 5k Retina. No problems. Put 16GB for a total of 24GB with the Apple memory. Good Luck.
     
  23. Jim L macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    The Piedmont, NC
    #23
    Just put in the Crucial memory from Amazon -- PROBLEMS! :(

    After inserting the RAM I powered up my Mac and nothing but constant beeping! It won't even turn on, no screen display at all. I immediately pulled it out and set up a return to Amazon. Then I ordered the OWC memory from B and H Photo.

    [Another Crucial Memory success story :rolleyes:]
     
  24. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #24
    I've got Crucial Ram installed in my iMac. No problems.

    But the bank thing confuses me.
    Is this correct?
    Screen Shot 2015-07-05 at 10.36.30 PM.png
     
  25. thalazy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Location:
    In a van down by the river.
    #25

Share This Page