Upgrading Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by JimT1701, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. JimT1701 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    Hi all I am planning to buy a used Mac Pro 4,1 to replace my trusty 1,1 so I can run Mountain Lion and future upgrades. Will I be able to take my SSD out of my current Mac and install into the new one and boot up without reinstalling everything? I think it should boot with no issues but curious if anyone else has tried this.

    Thanks for the input.
     
  2. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #2
    I haven't done this exactly, but I did move an SSD running Lion from a 2011 Macbook Pro into my 2006 Mac Pro with no issues. Unlike Windows Machines, it appears that you really won't have a problem moving boot drives from one computer to the next. That is not to say on first bootup it won't take extra time as OSX figures out what happened, but it certainly didn't cause me any problems....
     
  3. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #3
    ditto. except i went the other way (MP1,1 to MBP8,2) and it worked fine. only issue i found was that the networking preferences were wonky. it was showing ethernet for wireless, so just removed all the network connections (- button at the bottom of the frame) and then created new connections (+ button) and went back to work. all good, no other problems found.

    have a good backup, and then swap away. best of luck.
     
  4. JimT1701 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #4
    Thanks guys I was pretty sure it would work I just wanted some reassurance. I will make sure to backup first just in case.
     

Share This Page