Upgrading Mac RAM

Discussion in 'iMac' started by inertiat, May 11, 2008.

  1. inertiat macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #1
    Now, I've noticed that Apple are being sneaky, because if you choose only 2GBs of RAM it comes as a pair (2x1GHz). Now if I wanted to buy some after market RAM and boost it up to 4GB, would I have to replace the whole lot or could I get away with buying a 3GB stick and leave one 1GB stick in there? I'm not sure whether the iMac uses matched pairs or not - would having a 3GB plus 1GB set-up be slower than a 2x2GB set-up?
     
  2. asme macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
  3. dborja macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3
    +1
    You either replace one of the 1GB sticks with a 2GB stick or do both. I have 3GB total installed and it's plenty fast even when running WinXP in a VM Fusion session with 1GB allocated to it...
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
  5. xxjuicymintxx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI

Share This Page