upgrading macbook drive, how does this affect my bootcamp?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by bob2131, Oct 12, 2009.

  1. bob2131 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #1
    hi
    gonna get a new internal drive for my black macbook.
    I currently have a bootcamp windows partition.

    Im gonna clone my drive first.
    Also time machine it.
    So i will have both options to restore.



    How does bootcamp deal with all this? is it treated as same way as OSX?
    or some other complex procedure? will i need to re-install anything?

    thanks.
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    I just went through this on my 13" uMB, use the right tools and it'll go smoothly.

    I used Carbon Copy Cloner to clone my OS X partition and winclone to clone the Boot Camp partition off as disk images off to a third drive using a USB to SATA adapter. Just as a precaution.

    Then I took my new drive with the same USB to SATA adapter, and partitioned it. Be sure to use a GPT (or GPT/MBR) partition scheme not MBR or APM. Cloned the old OS X partition to the new OS X partition.

    Then I removed the old drive and installed the new drive per the iFixit guides.

    Reboot to OS X on the new drive. Since the hardware has changed, Windows might force you to reactivate, but it should work fine with online activation since there was only a single change.

    Use Winclone to restore the Windows partition from the third drive.

    Reboot to Windows

    Reactivate Windows (if necessary).

    B
     
  3. bob2131 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #3
    thanks.

    does bootcamp windows partition need to be cloned via winclone to a windows compatible(formatted) external drive? or OSX formatted drive is fine?
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    I did mine to an HFS+ (i.e. Mac OS X) formatted drive connected via USB, since NTFS is read only and FAT32 has the 4GB size limit I pretty much think you'd have to use an HFS+ or network volume.

    EDIT: Since your new OS X partition on the new drive should be a lot larger, you should be able to use that but I prefer to have a safety net.

    B
     
  5. bob2131 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #5
    so basically you can use ONE external drive, mac formatted, to time machine your mac, and ALSO winclone you bootcamp partition........?

    so my time machine back ups DO NOT include the bootcamp?
     
  6. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #6
    exactly
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    Yup and yup.

    The only constraint is the size of the external drive you are using.

    B
     
  8. bob2131 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #8
    thanks guys.

    got the drive. im ready, almost.

    when i plug the new hard drive(enclosure) to mac, do i use disc utility to format it? format it to what? i think my macbook internal is currently HFS+
    Do i make the partitions now? or clone osx and windows first?

    super duper sounds easy.
    then i will use winclone.

    regarding windows bootcamp:
    do i clone windows to extenal first?
    or do i fit the new drive in and THEN clone from original (via enclosure) ?

    but when do i actually do the partitioning for new drive?
    does bootcamp assistant make the partition?
    or do i have to do it via disc utility?

    my current windows partition is 50gb.
    after ive cloned windows, can i make the new bootcamp partition as bigger eg 100gb? and then just clone the windows over, no probs?

    ive read that we can resize bootcamp partition after anyway, by cloning, deleting, re-making size, cloning back image...... so this applies to my situation doesnt it?

    thanks
     
  9. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #9
    I went ahead and used DU to set the partitions at this point. If you don't you'll have to use Boot Camp Assistant later to make room for Windows.

    Just be sure to pick GPT (GUID Partition Table) as the partition scheme, when I picked two partitions initially it defaulted to Apple Partition Map (APM) and would not book.

    B
     
  10. bob2131 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #10
    cheers.
    yeah my current is set to gpt guid part. table. so im gonna copy these settings as much as i can.

    so it doesnt matter? we can make the partition right at beginning.
    or we can do it right at end? might just do it with bootcamp assistant then.
     
  11. bob2131 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #11
    problem problem problem

    tried restoring winclone said no partition created.
    so then i created a partition with bootcamp.
    and it defaulted to ms dos fat32.
    then i tried to restore winclone, said error. check log.... i think it said something about wrong partition format....cant remember... basically couldnt restore.

    why does bootcamp default making the partition to fat32?

    i thought winclone would sort out the file partition.

    ive just deleted the bootcamp partition now.

    will i have to start again and make 2 partitions with disc utility?

    but apple site and mac rumors guide say to NOT make partition with disc utility..... and to let bootcamp do it......

    im confused.

    please help.

    SORRY SORRY SORRY
    chose the wrong destination.
    just successfully cloned it....winclone made the fat32 partition into NTFS like my old windows clone.
    just gonna test it now.
     
  12. bob2131 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #12
    after ive cloned back my windows xp winclone clone to mac internal drive bootcamp partition....

    can i delete the original winclone image?
    (is resides on my mac internal system partition)
    or does bootcamp need it? ie it references it?
    or was image actaully physically copied to bootcamp partition? so that makes this image now just wasting hard drive space? ie delete?
     
  13. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7D11 Safari/528.16)

    You can delete the winclone image once you are sure it restored ok.

    B
     
  14. bob2131 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008

Share This Page