Upgrading macbook pro mid 2010 model

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by NickyJames84, Dec 4, 2013.

1. NickyJames84 macrumors newbie

Hi,

This is my first time using ANY forum. Apologies in advance!
    I currently have a mid 2010 MBP - 13", 2.4 GHz intel C2D + 4GB 1067 MHz DDR3.
    I use my MBP mostly for internet, iPhoto, some iMovie but mostly I use my MBP for making music.
    I use Logic exp 9, I have a few independant plug-ins etc and I have also recently installed BFD2 which I've heard is not very CPU friendly.

So my problem is - Ive recently updated my osx to mavericks and everything is running too slow. My tascam Audio interface no longer works, which I've accepted and buying new model.
    After reading a bunch of other forum threads I've realised i probably shouldn't have updated to mavericks but I have and can't go back so working out how to go forward.

My CPU usage seems to be the problem and keep getting warnings "couldn't process audio..." etc...

I need some advice on how to help my MBP run smoother/faster.
    Would upgrading RAM help?
    Any feedback would be much appreciated!

2. Freyqq macrumors 68040

Ram will help only if ram is the bottleneck for that software. Can you determine if you are paging out to the hard drive during those warnings?

Luckily ram is the cheapest upgrade you can do, so it may not be a bad idea to just upgrade it anyways. However, if you CPU is the only reason why you can't run your software properly, the only option is to get another computer with a better CPU.

3. NickyJames84 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for getting back to me.
    Sorry to sound stupid, but...

How can I determine whether Im paging out to the HD?

And, my CPU usage seems to be clogged up by "Kernel Task".
    Is there something I can do to fix this?

4. jmdMac macrumors regular

Likely you need some more RAM, newer versions of OSX use more.