Upgrading MacBook RAM to 8 GB

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by gskidmark, Aug 29, 2012.

  1. gskidmark macrumors newbie

    gskidmark

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    I realize that Apple says that the MacBook (Late 2008 \ MacBook 5,1) will only recognize 4 GB or RAM but there are plenty of forums and YouTube videos that show that it will take 8 GB.

    I bought the 8 GB pack from Crucial, installed it today but the MacBook will not start with it installed. I took out one and tried to start up but to no avail.

    I did zap the PRAM.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    MacBook Pro (Late 2008/Unibody, MB470LL/A, MacBookPro5,1, A1286, 2255)
    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
     
  3. gskidmark thread starter macrumors newbie

    gskidmark

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #3
    My machine definitely fits the bill for the 8 GB upgrade. I'm wondering if I got the right RAM.

    This is the Crucial description:
    2-4GB 204-PIN SODIMM 512Mx64 DDR3 PC3-8500 CL7

    That seems like the right part.
     
  4. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #4
    Is it running the latest Boot ROM as detailed above?
     
  5. gskidmark thread starter macrumors newbie

    gskidmark

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
  6. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
    Generic DDR3 RAM or one of the Apple kits? My colleague at work used the one for the 2009 Mac mini in his as it's essentially the same hardware and officially supported 8GB.
     
  7. gskidmark thread starter macrumors newbie

    gskidmark

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
  8. gskidmark thread starter macrumors newbie

    gskidmark

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #8
    I tried reinstalling it again but with the same results. I am returning it to Crucial. I may buy it from OWC and try again. They seem to support the premise that this MacBook can indeed use 8 GB and will give you support to try to make it work for you.
     
  9. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    Best Buy sells a PNY 'Mac-compatible' 8GB kit - 1333MHz for $41, that's what I used in my 5,1
     
  10. eldudorinio macrumors member

    eldudorinio

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    #10
    Hi, I have the same Macbook model (5,1 late 2008), currently at 4GB.

    I have a question. Is the reason that Apple officially supports only 4GB on this model the fact that it was running Mac OS X Leopard in 32-bit (by default) when released? Or is it more a hardware issue?
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    No, Leopard can support more than 4GB of RAM. It's not clear why Apple historically understates maximum RAM.
     
  12. Tartarus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #12
    wait, you can use ddr3 ram in a pre unibody macbook??
     

Share This Page