Upgrading Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by kennb, Nov 30, 2008.

  1. kennb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    #1
    Hi there,

    I'm thinking of upgrading my macbooks ram. At school the new internet system is not compatible with macs and whilst I can use adium and mail only browsers in XP Pro and Vista can connect to the web.

    I use my mac a lot and have now become a lot more dependent on my vista partition and Vista with 1gb ram is not working so well.

    Where is the best place to go for ram and what do I need? How much ram can my mac take and whats a reasonable price?

    I'm in the UK for a couple of months so preferably a company from here.

    Model Name: MacBook
    Model Identifier: MacBook4,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.1 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 3 MB
    Memory: 1 GB
    Bus Speed: 800 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MB41.00C1.B00
    SMC Version: 1.31f0

    Thanks,

    Kenny
     
  2. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #2
    I can only tell that your MB will take up to 4 GB of DDR2 667 MHz SO-DIMM RAM.

    Just don't buy Kingston sticks - they don't work correctly with Macs.
     
  3. Cheffy Dave macrumors 68030

    Cheffy Dave

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
    #3
    Your Mac book can take up to 6GB
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/5300DDR2S4GB/,
    using a 2GB and 4GB set up. Send them your MB specs first to make sure. VERY EXPENSIVE! I am using 4GB and it is quite fast
     
  4. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #4
    Where did you get the info that white MB 2.1 ghz can take 6 GB?

    IIRC only new Unibody models can use up to 6 GB.
     
  5. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #5
    <reads thread>
    <goes to web site>
    <reads price on 4 gig stick>
    <chokes, spits out coffee>
    <wipes coffee off of keyboard and screen>
     
  6. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #6
    Yeah, horrible, isn't it? Those prices aren't funny at all.
     
  7. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #7
    You are right. There's a useful guide to RAM, here on MacRumors.

    I always use Crucial. A 4GB kit for the 2.1 MacBook costs £43.46.
     
  8. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #8
    Trade ya a refill for a wipe.
     
  9. silverblack macrumors 68030

    silverblack

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #9
  10. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #10
    Kingston is fine. Don't confuse which MB model you are buying for.

    For your 4,1 MB you need a 200-pin PC2-5300 2X2GB kit.

    This is a 39.99 kit from Newegg and free shipping. Enjoy!
     
  11. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #11
    From my experience as an employee at local Apple Authorized Reseller, every time when we used Kingston RAM when upgrading Macs there were issues with it (random kernel panics, shut downs, apps crashing, etc). Not a single of these issues happend when we used other brands (Samsung, Hinyx, Patriot, etc).
     

Share This Page