Upgrading my 2009 Mac Pro Quad Core

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kuau, Oct 24, 2013.

  1. kuau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #1
    Oh well after I saw the price of the new Mac Pro 6 Core $3999.00 I decided to go ahead and just upgrade my 2009 Mac Pro.
    I have already upgraded the BIOS to 5,1 now its time for a new CPU and more ram.

    I think I am going for the W3690 6 core processor, yet I am confused on what type of ram to purchase.

    I assume the max I can go is 48GB which would mean 3 16GB 1333 ECC memory. OWC sells this for 679.00
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/1333D3X9M048/
    Where can I get a better deal than this.

    Thanks
    Steve
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Always have found these people have better prices than OWC. But unless you are actually going to use all that ram better off saving some money by getting less, 24gb should definitely do you..

    http://www.maxupgrades.com/istore/index.cfm?fuseaction=product.display&product_ID=296&ParentCat=404
     
  3. kuau thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #3
  4. Macshroomer macrumors 65816

    Macshroomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #4
    If you mean exporting, that is CPU/GPU intensive, 24GB is plenty. That being said, I am upping my 6x3.33 to 48GB this week for other reasons. I don't do medium format raw, just D800 and 8,000x8,000 120 scans and when the files are open in CS6 for cropping, sizing, CMYK etc then the ram pays off more.

    Signed, one pro photog who is happily going back to B&W film and darkroom work..:)
     
  5. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    I use 32GB from OWC for photography and video production. It's the sweet spot in terms of very little or no paging out or swap file use during my most intense video work, and very cheap.

    It's plenty for Ps and Lr, and I shoot thousands of photos for every occasion. I've even done a few time-lapse projects that were about 70,000 images long, and been fine.
     
  6. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Well different story if you are actually going to use it, I see many posts here going woohoo I maxed my ram now I can surf the web in style..
     
  7. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    Hi Steve. You can try checking eBay for cheaper rams at 1333mhz like Micron, Hynix or Samsung.
     
  8. Durex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #8
    Price rises!

    Geezzz, the price of RAM has gone way up!

    For my "upgraded" 2009 hex core (W3690) I got 3 of these 16GB modules from Amazon:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008210MDY

    At the time (April 2013), it was $127 + tax per 16GB module!


    Why has RAM prices gone up so much? :confused:
     
  9. kuau thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #9
    Well I went for the upgrade, I am running a W3680 XEON CPU, I upgraded to 5,1 and purchased 3 16GB Kingston 1333 ECC memory
    Everything is working except for some reason my Mac Pro is only recognizing my memory at 1066MHz,. Yes I have tried resetting the PRAM 3 times, still no change, I also did a SMC reset, no go. Computer is running fine, but would love to get the 1333mhz speed on the ram even though it will probably make no noticeable difference, yet I paid for the more expensive ram.

    I did the whole upgrade for $1000.00
    I am very pleased considering a new "OLD" Mac Pro 6 Core is still selling for $2999.00 new.

    I wonder if OSX 10.9 is the problem.
    I assume if the ram was bad, the machine would not even boot.
    Anything else I am missing?
    Steve
     
  10. Celedral macrumors 6502

    Celedral

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #10
    RAM has gotten crazy in the past few months. They have tripled in price and I believe it might be artificial inflation as well. 2012 was a great year for Ram prices.

    I've posted in another thread, but would anyone know the performance decrease if I were to only use two dimms in the meantime until ram prices fall? I was thinking a 5%-8% performance hit.
     
  11. kuau thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #11
    I have 4 4GB OWC if you are interested PM me I would sale them for 75.00 total
    Here is what I have
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/85MP3W4M16GK/
     
  12. Celedral macrumors 6502

    Celedral

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
  13. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #13
    My RAM (3x8GB) just worked @ 1333.

    I bought RAM labeled as 1066 (not being aware at the time of the upgradeability of my MP), but after I flashed to 5,1 and upgraded to the W3680, I noticed one day the RAM was identifying as 1333. I never even reset the PRAM. I did reset SMC. I'm still on ML though.

    I, too am very happy with my "new" machine and feel well-situated for, most likely, a number of years. The machine rocks my studio and I have yet to push it to its limits, even at very small audio buffer settings.
     
  14. rk25123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    #14
    I'm doing the exact same upgrade! I'm in the market for a W3680 (or a W3690, if I can find a good offer) and 3x16GB 1333 Mhz ECC RAM. Where did you end up buying them?
     
  15. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #15

Share This Page