Upgrading My HDD

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Mikeh12, May 29, 2011.

  1. Mikeh12 macrumors member

    Mikeh12

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Location:
    Liverpool
    #1
    Hi,

    I've been trying to find an answer to this for a couple of hours, but still no luck.

    First of all, I'm looking for a new HDD for my MacBook (Late 2008 13" Aluminum model). I was thinking of picking up a WD 1TB Scorpio Blue. Some people on forums have said it doesn't fit their enclosure, some have said it does. Do I risk going for this HDD or get a 750GB Scorpio Black?

    The Scorpio Black drive's are only made in 7200RPM models, and this will apparently be very loud in my MB, anyone got any experience of this?

    Also, I saw mentioned on another forum that any HDD over 700GB will run slowly because of certain Intel chipsets, and I'll need to download a lot of new drivers. Any truth in this?

    I'm also open to new suggestions about drives, preferably towards the higher end of the storage spectrum.

    Regards,

    Michael
     
  2. Nikh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    Kyiv
    #2
    Hm, all 2.5" HDDs should have the standard size, because it's standard, thus fitting the enclosure.

    Recently I changed my HDD to SSD - and it's so fast, that I don't even think about returning to HDDs. However, big SSD are too expensive, but if you will store all work data (really, it doesn't need that big drive) on SSD, and music/video on external drive it should be ok.

    Also, btw, there are special cases to replace DVD-RW with the second hard drive, so you can combine fast SSD for system with large HDD for data.
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    The Aluminum MacBooks can fit any 2.5" drive whether it's 9.5mm in height or 12.5mm. I didn't like the 7200 rpm drive in my old plastic MacBook but many seem happy with theirs so YMMV.
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    I have a 320GB Scorpio black in my aluminum macbook, and it's really not very loud at all. Maybe a little bit more than the stock drive, but it's only noticeable in a very very quiet environment. You could also get the 1TB drive, which will certainly fit in your computer.
     
  5. anotherarunan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom (UK)
    #5
    I dont think the 1tb drive will fit your MB - even though its still a 2.5" drive - i think its the height of the drive that makes it too big - not 100pc sure - but i remember reading the biggest your MB will fit is 750gb.
     
  6. aleXXXps macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #6
    I have a regular white MacBook that I bought about a month ago, and was going to upgrade my hard drive as well. If I purchase a 500gb 5400rpm drive, that should work right? And I didn't fully research OS installation yet, but I should be able to just clone my current drive onto the new one, right? I spent so many hours installing applications and transferring photos, music, documents, etc. over to the new MacBook when I bought it and don't want to do it all over again.
     
  7. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    Yes, this hard drive will work, but you will need some sort of external enclosure or SATA to USB adapter to clone the drive (I have one if you need it.) After that you can just switch out the hard drives and the Macbook should boot fine to the new one.
     
  8. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #8
    I have the same exact drive and I agree, I only notice the noise when its extremely quiet, and it does vibrate a little more than the stock 5400rpm drive but it isn't really an issue.
     
  9. aleXXXps macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8H7 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Actually I upgraded it yesterday and all I had to do was a time machine backup to my 1tb external prior to swapping the hard drives. When I put the new one in, I booted with my snow leopard DVD and formatted it and then selected install from backup and used my time machine backup and it worked no problem!
     
  10. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #10
    Yeah if you use Time Machine you don't have to clone the drive. I was talking about if you wanted to clone it and then make a direct swap without installing the OS again you would have to use an external enclosure.
     
  11. Starhorsepax macrumors member

    Starhorsepax

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #11
    I've got the same question..

    If I want to upgrade my internal hard drive on a first gen macbook what do I need? Where do I find that info? I'm having a hard time keeping keeping enough free space with only a 74 gig drive.:confused:
     
  12. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #12
    You can find what you need and guides on how to replace the HD at http://www.ifixit.com/
     
  13. aleXXXps macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #13
    All I needed was a small phillips and a torx size 8 screwdriver, all of which came in a 4 dollar kit I bought from home depot.
     

Share This Page