Upgrading my iMac's memory

Discussion in 'iMac' started by harry20larry, May 31, 2009.

  1. harry20larry macrumors 6502a

    harry20larry

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #1
    I have just ugraded my late 2008 unibody Macbook to 4GB of Ram, giving me 2GB DDR3 spare.
    Basically my early 2008 iMac has 1GB of DDR2 Ram installed and I have noticed it is a bit sluggish from time to time.
    I have seen a guy on youtube use RAM from his iMac and put it into his plastic macbook.
    I was wondering if I could do the same with the ram I have from my MacBook, it DDR3 and the iMac is DDR2, however the early 2009 model has DDR3 so does this mean older models that are exactly the same physically-wise can have DDR3.
    Thanks,
    Harri
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  3. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #3
    What's the worst that could happen? I'm not sure if this is widely practiced, but I put 256 MB of DDR2 RAM in a digital audio G4.
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    Pin layout and count is different. It won't fit.
     
  5. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #5
    Too bad.
     

Share This Page