Upgrading my MacBook Pro Memory

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by karleaglemac, Nov 5, 2007.

  1. karleaglemac macrumors regular

    karleaglemac

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    #1
    Hey all,

    I need your insight and advice. I've got a 17", 2.16 GHz, MBP with only 1 GB of RAM. It works wonderfully and I LOVE the new OSX! However, I want to upgrade my memory to 2 GB (the maximum with my processor).

    Can I get by with only buying a 1 GB stick and supplementing my existing memory, or do I need to buy a completely new set of 2 x 1 GBs?

    Does it matter if the brands of the memory differ? I've heard it's not that good of an idea...

    Sorry if these are dumb questions.:eek:

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Without more information we can't help you. Your laptop could have shipped with 2x512 or 1x1024. You only have 2 slots so if it's 2x512 you need to replace this with 2x1024 to get to 2Gb. This is, unfortunately, the most likely case.

    To check open System Profiler and see what it says under Memory. If you have a Size listed in both memory slots you have 2x512.
     
  3. smueboy macrumors 6502a

    smueboy

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Oz
    #3
    You probably have 2x512 MB RAM at the moment, so if you want 2GB you'd have to take them out and buy two 1 GB sticks to put in (or a 2 GB and 1 GB if you want to max it out ;))
     
  4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    That model shipped with a single 1 GB stick.

    Using a matched pair will provide you with an extra speed boost under certain circumstances, but your machine will run just fine with unmatched sticks. RAM is pretty cheap these days, but even so, it's probably not worth springing for a new, matched pair. Just get the single stick.
     
  5. TimJim macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #5
    I got sorta a similar question. I have a C2D MBP with 2gb Ram 2x1 gb. I was thinking about upgrading to 3gb, but now im thinking i could get the 2x2 gb deal for more, but a better deal. Anyway, how much (with Leopard) will my computer recognize with 4gb in it, 3gb or like 3.5, or 4?
     
  6. karleaglemac thread starter macrumors regular

    karleaglemac

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    #6
    I do have a 1 GB stick (DDR2 SDRAM) and an empty free slot.

    I guess my specific question is this. Is the maximum memory for my MBP 2GB, 3GB, or 4GB?
     
  7. karleaglemac thread starter macrumors regular

    karleaglemac

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    #7
    Ah, I just found the answer. It looks like with my Core Duo, I can only handle 2GB.
     
  8. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #8
    Correct...karleaglemac, your Core Duo machine can only use a max of 2 GB.

    TimJim, your early Core 2 Duo machine will be able to use 3.3 GB if you install 4 GB...generally not considered worth the extra expense over just going to 3 GB.
     
  9. karleaglemac thread starter macrumors regular

    karleaglemac

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007

Share This Page