Upgrading my processor on 2010 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Severio, Feb 13, 2014.

  1. Severio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    #1
    Hello all,

    I currently have a 2010 Mac Pro 2,8 GHz Quad-Core, I would like to upgrade it to a new processor six-core. I know it is possible to replace that Quad-Core by an Intel six-core W3670 (3,2 GHz) or 3680 (3,33 GHz) but it is difficult to find them because of their age. So, is the Xeon E5-1650 (3,5 GHz) compatible with my Mac Pro 5.1 ?

    Thanks you in advance for your response. Sorry if it has already been talked here despite my research.
     
  2. kennyman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #2
    Severio, please see below;

    I know it is possible to replace that Quad-Core by an Intel six-core W3670 (3,2 GHz) or 3680 (3,33 GHz) but it is difficult to find them because of their age.

    No, they are easily available, price varies from USD 500 to 600 (I just checked used items on ebay). You can actually upgrade to W3670, W3680, W3690 (Xeon processors and works fine with ECC RAM). W3680 will be good, if you have the money, go for W3690.

    and I7 980x and 990x will also work (work with ECC RAM but processor does not fully support the error correction feature as it is meant for consumer use not for server)
    I would suggest you go with Xeon.

    So, is the Xeon E5-1650 (3,5 GHz) compatible with my Mac Pro 5.1 ?

    Xeon E5 requires LGA 2011 socket, your Mac is equipped with LGA 1366. So it will not work, Xeon E5 will work only on the new Mac Pro.

    How to do it?

    Written Guide
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1122551&highlight=

    Video Guide
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhBfHM4YiDc
     
  3. Severio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    #3
    Thank you a lot for answering and for the links, Kennyman ! :) That's valuable.
     
  4. kennyman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #4
    Great, just remember get Xeon processor, if not you will not be able to use right memory config afterwards. And also check prices over web before purchasing, you might find a good deal. Good Luck! Any question, feel free to give a shout;)
     
  5. ticotoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    #5
    upgraded Mac Pro with 3680 3.33ghz

    I did mine several months ago & it works great.
    follow this thread:http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1122551

    A couple of things to look out for:
    1. Be sure you have cleaned the heat sink throughly.
    2. Use a minimal amount of thermal paste. Most people tend to use too much.
    Just a small bead down the center & be sure to spread out uniformly.
    3. Use care when tightening heat sink. Tighten in stages & in a cross pattern.

    My temps are ~ 60 oC normal use & when I'm folding using 10 cores ~83 oC. with fan speeds ~ 800-1000.

    ----------

    Forgot one thing. reset your NVRAM & SMC. Your memory speed should go to 1333mhz.
     
  6. flowrider, Feb 13, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2014

    flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    In single processor 5,1 Mac Pros. The X5600 series Xeons may also be used and may be easer to find.

    Lou
     
  7. Severio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    #7
    @ Kennyman, thanks !

    @ Ticotoo, great for that advice !

    @ Flowrider, really ? It is good to know ! :)
     

Share This Page