Upgrading my Video Card on Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Jesus162, Aug 8, 2013.

  1. Jesus162 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    #1
    Hi there

    I have a question concerning my video card on my MacBook Pro mid 2010 i7 17", which is NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M 512 MB! and its quiet low for me right now so is there a possibility I can upgrade my video card on this particular MacBook Pro? I tried looking for an option to upgrade my RAM and it says that 8 GB on the maximum which I have and other people who know well in computers told me that it's not going to effect my video editing.. Only video card will do the job so is there possibility that I can upgrade my video card or it would be a problem for me to be able to upgrade?

    Thanks Alot!
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    You can't. The graphics card is soldered onto the logic board.
     
  3. sonicrobby macrumors 68020

    sonicrobby

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Location:
    New Orleans
  4. Jesus162 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    #4
    Thanks for answering... I appreciate that.

    p.s. I need a new mac then! heh
     
  5. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #5
    You cant upgrade but you can try to add an eGPU.
     
  6. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    Actually, if you have BGA equipment or anyone that would do it for you it is possible to upgrade the GPU.
     
  7. Yahooligan macrumors 6502a

    Yahooligan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    On the flip side, that doesn't address the GPU memory, pin assignments, power requirements, etc. The GPU subsystem is more than just the physical GPU itself.

    Your post would be like telling someone that they could upgrade their C2D to an i7 if they had the equipment. Unfortunately, the rest of the system isn't compatible with the i7.
     

Share This Page