Upgrading Powerbook G4 to Leopard?? HOW??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Dragonlady69, Sep 18, 2008.

1. Dragonlady69 macrumors newbie

:confused:My brother has a Powerbook G4 ver. 10.4.9
    Processor 1GHz
    1MB L3 Cache
    Memory 512 MB DDR SDRAM

He no longer has the restore and install disk and we thought we might be able to upgrade to Leopard and give it to our parents to use - as I have my original disks. The computer isn't working so well. Sorry but I'm quite new to mac as I only bought mine back in March of this year. I know windows but not Mac. Can this be done? And if so how? Thanks!:)

2. TEG macrumors 604

TEG

Go to a store that sells Apple software (Best Buy or an Apple Store) and buy a copy of Leopard. Then insert the CD and restart the computer and hold the 'C' key to boot off the disc.

TEG

3. pit29 macrumors 6502a

pit29

Yes. And check Leopard's system requirements before you buy.

Maybe. Leopard is sold on a dual layer DVD, and only the latest generation of PowerBooks can read those. If you have an earlier one that can technically run Leopard, connect it to another Mac using FireWire, and start it while holding down "t". You can then access the PowerBook's harddrive from the other computer and use it's DVD-DL drive to install Leopard.

4. TEG macrumors 604

TEG

Your answers are crap. All PowerBooks can read all DVDs, the dual layer stuff only applies to the burning of discs. Also, it is a 1GHz G4, well above the 867Mhz required by Leopard.

More memory may be necessary, but that is cheap.

TEG

5. FF_productions macrumors 68030

FF_productions

I have a 1.67 ghz PowerBook and a 12 inch 1.33 ghz PowerBook.

I used Leopard on both of these machines for a while...

Then I downgraded.

The 1.67 powerbook has 1.5 gigs of ram and smokes with Tiger, Leopard just wasn't meant for a G4.

If you really need the newest OS and newest features, then yes, upgrade. If you want the fastest OS for your computer, Tiger is the best way to go.