upgrading powermac g5 quad?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by rroback, Jan 20, 2009.

1. rroback macrumors member

I'm trying to upgrade my powermac g5 quad 2.5ghz, as I'm a photographer and videographer, and I've got to the point where I'm annoyed by how slow my computer works in PS with big files, and the large video files from my new Canon 5d mk2 take awhile to manipulate. I just upgraded to 16 gigs of ram ( from 6.5), and I'm now thinking hard drives, or video card perhaps?

I've got the two 500 gig sata drives, and I'm wondering what I should get? I was thinking of getting a 15k raptor just for operating system/apps, but I'd really need the scratch disk to be fast, and although I'm not filling the full terabyte, I'm up to about 700 gigs of stuff. I could do a raid setup, but I'm not familiar with the ins and outs, and although I don't mind spending the money, I don't want to get junk, or not get a real gain in performance.

Finally, I'm not sure how much video cards effect image manipulations. I'm running two cinema displays, one is the fairly recent generation ( Al. housing), and the other is the acrylic 22inch ( which I think is dying).

thanks for the help, and suggestions.

Rhett

2. Arthagnan macrumors regular

3. TrapOx macrumors 6502

Look for ATI X1900 or a flashed 7800GTX 512 video cards.

4. rroback thread starter macrumors member

I'd love a new mac pro, but I don't have the money. I figure I'd need about 5k at least ( given I have lots of ram) to make it worth getting. I was even thinking about ditching the desktop, and getting a new 17'' mbp with the 256gig ssd, and then have an external disk setup, but that's not cheap either.

No comments out there? I'd like to know if a new graphics card would help, or if faster drives would help. I'm inclined to believe both would, but I'd like someone to comment.

5. TrapOx macrumors 6502

A 17" macbook pro costs MORE than a mac pro and has 1/4 the power. :rolleyes:

6. California macrumors 68040