Upgrading Present rMBP SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by loon3y, Oct 3, 2014.

  1. loon3y macrumors 65816

    loon3y

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
  2. awests macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #2
    At the current time, correct. No 3rd party hard drives available.
     
  3. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #3
    It's not soldered in, but nobody's offering any upgrades.

    OWC is said to be working on an upgrade, but at this stage, I don't think they will offer one.
     
  4. NathanA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #4
    Right, not soldered, but no third-party is making replacement SSDs that work in the current gen.

    Because it's not soldered, though, you can try to find somebody who is selling a genuine Apple PCIe SSD of the capacity that you want, and install that. Search eBay. I'm sure it won't be cheap. But if you have a 256GB SSD and you want the 1TB one instead, you can certainly try to find one of the Apple ones for sale, or cannibalize the part out of a dead rMBP, or whatever. (Apple will not sell them direct.)

    -- Nathan
     
  5. XenoJin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    #5
  6. NathanA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #6
    Site shows at the bottom of the page that the modules are only compatible with the Mid-2012 and Early-2013 models (MacBookPro10,1 and MacBookPro10,2), not the second-ten rMBPs released October 2013 and beyond (MacBookPro11,x).

    -- Nathan
     
  7. MacInTO macrumors 6502a

    MacInTO

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Canada, eh!
    #7
    I've seen some on eBay, but they're not cheap! Might as well buy a new Mac! :confused:
     
  8. loon3y thread starter macrumors 65816

    loon3y

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #8
    they charge an arm and an leg for that 1TB SSD.


    i have to partition a good portion to my windows side because of my company's software, which can have many different of our customers DB ranging from 1GB-2GB

    of course i use an external but with the different version and all the other products we offer its just a bug, (not to mention all the prerequisite programs we have to install)


    but i need Xcode to test our apps, ibooks author to look over our books and edit.


    like the iPhone/iPad why cant these guys just be a A LITTLE bit reasonable with the storage upgrade prices.


    I'm thinking about getting the 500GB and using this

    http://www.seagate.com/external-hard-drives/portable-hard-drives/wireless/wireless-plus/


    1TB for personal (music, pictures, videos) 1TB for work

    do you guys think the storage upgrades will ever drop down in prices?
     
  9. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #9
    Have you considered running Windows in a virtual machine (VMWare / Parallels) instead of partitioning the drive?

    That way the amount of disk space Windows takes up can grow and shrink based on how much it really uses, instead of taking up a fixed chunk.
     
  10. loon3y thread starter macrumors 65816

    loon3y

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #10
    oh haha i do have parallels but i like having partitions,

    just in case i want to play some PC games at optimized speeds :D


    but i haven't gotten a rMBP yet, I'm still on my 2010 13" MBP so sometimes i have to just boot off the partition because it gets really laggy sometimes.
     

Share This Page