Upgrading processor on iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by StrokeMidnight, Sep 29, 2008.

  1. StrokeMidnight macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #1
    Hi, I was wondering if any of you could help me on this. I need to either upgrade my processor (or if I can't I have to buy a new computer) and wanted to know if it's possible to do this on an iMac. In system profiler it says under model identifier that I have an iMac4,1. I'm almost positive that the iMac I have is from the first series of iMacs that used Intel Processors. I need to upgrade from the Intel Core Duo (1.86 Ghz) to an Intel Core 2 Duo (2.5 Ghz) or equivalent. Is this possible to do?

    Also, as a side question, I need to upgrade the RAM on my machine too. Do I need to buy RAM from Apple directly, or can I just buy something cheap from new egg?


    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Get your RAM off of NewEgg. You're limited to 2 x 1 GB though.

    The Core 2 Duo T7600 is the fastest processor you can install but be ready to take your entire computer apart.
     
  3. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #3
    might be possible or impossible im not sure but its definitely not worth it.

    firstly the processor is soldered onto the board which makes it mighty hard to upgrade, secondly you will have to upgrade the logic board which will probably be a waste of money just the speed increase and thirdly(?) you will have to get hold of either a Leopard retail DVD (not Tiger as they are only Power PC compatible) or a restore disc which shipped with the 2.5 GHz Core 2 Duo iMacs to install the appropriate drivers.
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    1. The iMac and Mac mini processor's are not soldered in. They are socketed.
    2. The fastest Socket M processor is the 2.33 GHz T7600.
    3. It's not worth the money to do the upgrade.
     
  5. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #5
    ^ sorry i though they were soldered in :eek:. yes so if he wants a clock speed of 2.5 GHz he needs a new logic board (but wouldnt he need a new one anyway Core Duo -> Core 2 Duo?)
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    The processor isn't going to need any special drivers nor would they need to change the logic board. iMac 4,1 is an original Core Duo iMac.
     
  7. StrokeMidnight thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #7
    Ok, I'm a little confused...can I do this or not? And what would I need to buy. The system requirements say I need 2.5Ghz. So, compared to buying a new Mac, I think it's worth it.
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    The system requirements for what say you need 2.5 GHz? I have a good feeling it's not taking into account Core 2.
     
  9. StrokeMidnight thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #9
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  11. StrokeMidnight thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #11

    I don't have a Core 2. I have a single the Intel Core Duo. Not the Intel Core 2 Duo. I only have 1.8 Ghz and I need 2.5.
     
  12. ADent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #12
    If you NEED 2.5GHZ C2D then you need a new machine.

    The max upgrade for your machine is 2.3 GHz C2D. A T7600 with pins.

    You need a new MacBook Pro or iMac (not the low end versions of either) or a MacPro.

    If you look at the software that is what is recommended. It will run on any G5. The slowest G5 is 1.6 GHz.
     
  13. StrokeMidnight thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #13

    Really? So it will run on mine? I'm planning to upgrade to a better Mac, but I'm not sure if I can afford it yet. I suppose I'll just upgrade my RAM, and eventually buy a new computer. Thanks for the help anyway guys!
     
  14. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #14
    min is a g5 processor for mac or a p4 2.5ghz

    a coreduo is better than either one of those

    it will run on your current system
     
  15. Lord Zedd macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #15
    You don't need to upgrade your CPU, it will run.
     
  16. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #16
    I must ask, why do people find it necessary to post something that has already been posted twice AND has been replied to by the OP?
     
  17. Lord Zedd macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #17
    I must ask, why do people find it necessary to post something useless that does not need to be said?
     
  18. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #18
    sounded as if the op wasnt complety sold on it and wanted more opinions.....
     
  19. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #19
    Aaa... the Megaherz Myth. I thought it would be dead by 2006... I guess not :eek:
     
  20. vrslider macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #20
    Just wondering to what and if I should upgrade my 2.16 dualcore to 3 ghz dualcore and harddisk, I already understood there is a 3gb limit to the OS on a G5 from sept 2006..?

    Is it worth it?
     

Share This Page