Upgrading RAM help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by harrymerkin, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. harrymerkin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #1
    This may seem a little obvious.

    I have a white 24 Inch Imac G5 . . .bought it in 2006. It has the 1gb of memory that came with it. I am doing a lot of design stuff, and need to upgrade my memory . . .very soon.

    it says in my owners manual that I can upgrade to 3gb . . .so I am assuming then that there is one slot available to me.

    I found a site through a friend, that looks as though it sells reasonably priced memory, so if I was to order some RAM from here: http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/default.php?cPath=115_23

    Which one do I get?.
     
  2. RHatton macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    #2
    Order your RAM from here...

    www.macsales.com

    also you have two slots therefore each slot has 512 MB for a combined memory of 1 GB. If you want to upgrade buy two sticks. If your iMac is capable of 3 GB then upgrade it to either 3 or 4. Most macs that say they are capable of 3 GB are actually capable of 3.2 GB. If the price difference isn't drastic between buying 3 GB and 4 GB then just spring for the 4 GB. Your choice either way, you won't be disappointed with either number.

    You will need PC-5300 DDR2 667 MHz.
     
  3. harrymerkin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for the quick response!

    Does it matter that I would be ordering that from Australia?, I mean with the difference in voltage . . .
     
  4. RHatton macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    #4
    No it won't make a difference. The AC adapter with the imac should automatically convert the voltage anyway and the RAM won't make a difference. Good luck:)
     
  5. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #5

Share This Page