Upgrading Ram in Macbook PRO

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sdahe, May 13, 2008.

1. Sdahe macrumors 68000

Sdahe

Hello guys,

I'm thinking about upgrading the ram in my MacBook PRO. I have MBP 2.4Ghz with 2GB of Ram and I would like to take it all the way to 4GB of RAM. My question is... does it really make that big difference?... is going to cost me a couple of hundred dollars and I want to be sure...

Thanks guys

2. tersono macrumors 68000

tersono

the simple answer is..... it depends.

If you're only running relatively lightweight applications, then the difference is fairly small. If, on the other hand, you run heavyweight stuff such as Parallels/VMWare Fusion, Adobe CS3 or that kinda thing, then it's well worth it - everything is that much more responsive under load.

..... typing this on a 17" MBP with 4gb RAM ..... :D

3. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

Sdahe

Well... I work as a photographer and I do a lot of photo editing work using Nikon Capture NX and Photoshop CS3 so I guess it will make a big difference with 4GB... where can I buy this memory from?...

Thanks

4. NP3 macrumors regular

Yes, if you're doing heavy duty photo work, you could benefit from the ram. Photoshop is widely used in computer and ram testing. (because it can use so much)

Most people here go with Crucial.com or otherworldcomputing.com

Also, if you're really curious, look at the amount of "Page outs" and "swaps used" by opening Activity Monitor > System Memory. I've read if you have any of those, you would benefit from more ram.

5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

CanadaRAM

If you live in North America, there's no way 4 GB is going to cost a couple of hundred dollars if you buy third party RAM from a reputable dealer. You do not have to pay Apple's massively inflated RAM prices.

MR Guides : Hardware : Buying RAM

6. beerglass007 macrumors 6502

7. phatcat macrumors regular