Upgrading Ram in my MBP and MB

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by barnetda, Jul 23, 2007.

  1. barnetda macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #1
    I have just bought a MBP with 2 gb of Ram installed and my wife is buying a MB with 1gb of ram installed.

    As i understand it the MBP has a max space for 4gb and the MB has a max space for 2gb Ram.

    My thinking is this:

    I buy 2*2 sticks of ram from crucial.com and put in my MBP. I take out my 2 1*1 gb sticks and put into my wifes MB.

    I then sell the 2 sticks of 512 from her MB i guess.

    Does that make sense or have i missed something?

    Many thanks
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    You'll want to keep the Apple RAM, so if you ever have a problem you can send it to Apple with their RAM in it. That way they can't blame the problem on 3rd party RAM.
     
  3. barnetda thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #3

    Will do, thanks for the info.

    Is my thinking right about the rest of ther am though?

    thanks
     
  4. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Yeah, you could do what you suggested in the first post.
     
  5. barnetda thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
  6. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA

Share This Page