Upgrading ram memory 8GB MBP 13" i5 2.3Ghz.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Bonilla, Jun 15, 2011.

  1. Bonilla, Jun 15, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011

    Bonilla macrumors member

    Bonilla

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    México.
    #1
    Hello i need some advice, I had a Macbook Pro 15" early 2009 4GB ram.

    Now i have this MBP 13 i5, but i noticed it is slower and get pauses sometimes when i am doing multitaskig but light stuff like webpages and some apps.

    I am trying to upgrade to 8GB RAM but i dont know wich is the best option.
    at amazon.com i could find these 3.

    Can any one give me an advice about eache one.

    1.- Kingston Apple 8GB Kit (2x4GB Modules) 1066MHz DDR3 SODIMM iMac and Macbook Memory (KTA-MB1066K2/8G). Price: $87.99


    2.- DDR3 Upgrade for the Apple MacBook Pro 2.3GHz Intel Core i5 (13-inch DDR3) Early-2011 Laptop/Notebook. Price: $81.99

    3.- Corsair 8 GB DDR3 Laptop Memory Kit CMSO8GX3M2A1333C9. Price: $74.99

    What will be the best option ? and why?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Apple Expert macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
  3. Bonilla thread starter macrumors member

    Bonilla

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    México.
    #3
  4. Bonilla thread starter macrumors member

    Bonilla

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    México.
    #4
    I found another option and it seems to be the perfecto choice but there is a problem, looks like speed DDR3 1600.

    I read, that kind of speed can damage our macbook pro ?

    But in the feedback some guys said it runs perfectly.
    What to you think ?

    Kingston HyperX 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1600 HyperX Plug n Play Laptop Memory Model KHX1600C9S3P1K2/8G

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...=&IsFeedbackTab=true&Keywords=#scrollFullInfo
     
  5. zflauaus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #5
    Crucial 8GB for your exact computer - $82. I've had nothing but luck with Crucial. Kingston is also good if you can find a deal. I've found them to be a bit expensive.
     
  6. Apple Expert macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #6
    Those will work. However your CPU will not take full advantage of the speed so you will be wasting your money.
     
  7. fat jez macrumors 68000

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #7
    Any of the well known brands will be fine. Get a minimum of 1333, but anything faster will be overkill. I went with Crucial, but other makes will be fine, although I'd stay away from cheap, no name RAM.
     
  8. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #8
    Crucial
    Kingston
    GSkill

    All are good with good, stable, quality products backed with lifetime warranty.
     
  9. Bonilla thread starter macrumors member

    Bonilla

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    México.
    #9
  10. cloroxbleach4 macrumors 6502a

    cloroxbleach4

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #10
  11. Blondie :) macrumors 6502a

    Blondie :)

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ
    #11
    I also have quite enjoyed Crucial. The last time I purchased crucial memory (last MacBook) it sped up my computer exponentially. Very solid RAM as well. Never had any problems. And it's affordable. I'd go for it if I were you honestly
     
  12. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #12
  13. CampDavid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #13
    I have your exact laptop which I am typing on now with 8GB of crucial RAM in it. Works very nicely. The old 4GB went in the 2010 iMac upstairs so I managed to upgrade both to 8GB for £59.99 and 20 minutes of chip swapping

    Super Bosh!
     
  14. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #14
  15. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #15
    Thanks both of you for your feedback. I too have bought Crucial memory (probably 80% of the time) and they have never given me any problems. However, I'm going to give G.SKILL a shot. Never used them before, but for $49.99 (after $20 off code) that can't be beat if it works!
     
  16. Apple Expert macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #16
    I purchased the G. Skill and had problems. For me I'm sticking with Crucial, Kingston or Samsung. They tend to be a little more in cost, but never had one single problem. Plus G.Skill website makes me wonder about them. Can't get the configuration module to work. Seems unprofessional.
     
  17. Timur macrumors 6502a

    Timur

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #17
    Wrong. The "/8G" will use their full 1600 mHz while the "/8GX" will not. ;)
     
  18. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #18
    i would just go with whatever you can get the best deal on. keep looking over newegg's daily memory deals for laptop modules at your specific frequency and you can usually catch a reputable branded cheap 8gb kit.

    edit: much like this. gogogogogo.
     
  19. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #19
    Kinda a bummer to hear. Which year/model MacBook Pro did you have?
     
  20. Apple Expert macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #20

    2011 MBP 13" i5. I've tried the Kingston HyperX (1600) and they are a bit faster. But for double the price. If you have to have the best out there then the HyperX is what you should look it. But at double the price, you need to think about it.
     
  21. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #21
    Thanks, just wanted to be sure since that's the same as the thread starter (and mine as well). I'll report back once I get it to see how the GSKILL works out.
     
  22. deosaa7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    #22
    If I am having RAM problems (Kernel panics, other stuff) will I know?

    I installed G.SKILL 8gb (2x4gb) and I haven't had any issues except last night after having a 13 hour up time I tried to get MBP to shut down and it went to a blue screen and this rotating thing appeared. It took like 3 minutes to shut down..
     
  23. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #23
    I haven't touched the stock ram in my 2011 13" MPB (yet) and I've had that happen a couple of times at shutdown as well. Seemed like it was locked up, but then it worked itself out.
     
  24. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #24
    That could be from anything - usually RAM problems cause lots of random issues.
     
  25. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #25
    Just got the G.SKILL ram and installed it 1/2 hour ago. So far so good...perfectly smooth install as expected. Will report back if any issues arise.
     

Share This Page