Upgrading ram on blackbook for snow leopard

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by turnstylez18, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. turnstylez18 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #1
    I have a Rev B Blackbook. Core 2 Duo 2.0 ghz 1gb ram and 120gb hd.

    I am planning to purchase snow leopard when it releases but not sure if my computer will be good enough to handle it. Right now I am using tiger.

    My main uses for my mac is simply browse the net, download music, video chat..multimedia...etc...pretty much the basics...nothing really in depth..i dont game on my macbook..

    As well i may considering using windows using bootcamp only

    I am not sure whether to upgrade to 2gb (2x1gb sticks) or 4gb (2x2gb sticks). If i upgrade to 4gb the cost would be around the $100cdn range. If i upgrade to 2gb cost would be about $50cdn. Not sure which route I should go with. I am planning to get either corsair or mushkin since the store across my street carries them.

    I want my macbook to last me a few more years. So are there other upgrades I should think about?

    I currently have 120gb hd 5400rpm. Im thinking about upgrading the hd as well maybe a 320gb. whats the difference and advantages from 5400rpm and 7200rpm. If i upgrade the hd, i can use my current one as an external to back up my files.

    thanks...suggestion/comments appreciated



    UPDATE:


    I've decided to get:

    2 x 2gb ram sticks

    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4350448&CatId=4162
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3195228&CatId=4162

    Although, this says 5400 instead of 5300. Some say its the same, some say it might not working depending on your laptop. As well, I don't see 5400 on crucial's site. As well, how come it costs more to buy the kit than buying 2 separately? are they different?

    or should i get a different brand altogether? i just want the most reliable. any suggestions.

    320gb hard drive 5400 or 7200
    http://www.canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=018732&cid=HD.517.47
    http://www.canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=019704&cid=HD.517.47

    I am not sure of which to go with, 5400 or 7200? I want the most reliable and quietest possible and no vibration. However, i still want the feeling of having a new computer by upgrading to 7200.

    or should I just go with a 500gb with a 5400rpm? not sure if they make 7200
     
  2. SteveMobs macrumors 6502

    SteveMobs

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #2
    Your blackbook has an intel processor, right? PPCs will not work.

    And with Snow Leopard you will need less RAM, everything will be more efficient so there is nothing to really worry about.
     
  3. turnstylez18 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  4. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #4
    you are mistaken

    a blackbook implies intel processors

    also, in snow leopard, you will need more ram, in fact double than what leopard reccomends (currently 512mb)....because of 64 bit addressing among other things
     
  5. dangerfish macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #5
    Where are you getting your ram from? I just ordered 4gigs for my black book from Crucial for about $50 US.
     
  6. turnstylez18 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    originally i wanted to order from crucial but im from canada so i am worried about paying extra for customs and duties...
     
  7. turnstylez18 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    I've decided to get:

    2 x 2gb ram sticks

    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4350448&CatId=4162
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3195228&CatId=4162

    Although, this says 5400 instead of 5300. Some say its the same, some say it might not working depending on your laptop. As well, I don't see 5400 on crucial's site. As well, how come it costs more to buy the kit than buying 2 separately? are they different?

    or should i get a different brand altogether? i just want the most reliable. any suggestions.

    320gb hard drive 5400 or 7200
    http://www.canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=018732&cid=HD.517.47
    http://www.canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=019704&cid=HD.517.47

    I am not sure of which to go with, 5400 or 7200? I want the most reliable and quietest possible and no vibration. However, i still want the feeling of having a new computer by upgrading to 7200.

    or should I just go with a 500gb with a 5400rpm? not sure if they make 7200
     
  8. imthekuni macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    #8
    If it is pre Santa Rosa then I believe it is limited to 3.3Gb of ram
     
  9. turnstylez18 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #9
    i know i will be limited to 3.3gb but id rather have 2 matching sticks...so i dont mind at all
     

Share This Page