Upgrading RAM on iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Halcyon, Apr 19, 2007.

  1. Halcyon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #1
    I would like to upgrade RAM on my 17" iMac.
    Mine came with 512 mb and an extra 1GB module that I installed myself (very easy BTW). Now I want to take my machine to its RAM limit, which is 2 GB, and for that I'm ordering another 1GB module to exchange for the 512 MB already in the mchine. Is this second stick easy to replace?
    Any suggestions or things I should watch for?

    TIA
     
  2. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #2
    Just from the apple doc, it seems to be the same exact process.

    I'm going to install 1GB in my friends intel iMac for his birthday, so hopefully that doc is accurate, I'd want to make sure I'm prepared before I get there. Are they really Phillips screws and not hex screws?
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Yes it should be quite easy. Pop out the 512 and put in the 1 Gb

    Two things to watch for. The eject levers on the RAM sockets are notoriously imprecise. Do not force them. Sometimes, they will release the RAM but not eject it - this seems to be a problem with tolerance in the socket vs. the thickness of the RAM PCB. DO NOT use pliers on the RAM you will damage it and tool marks will void the warranty. Use fingers, if necessary enlist somone with slender fingers and good nails. If this fails, take it to an Apple shop, as this is a warranty issue.

    the second thing, when installing the new RAM orient it carefully vis a vis the notch in the connector edge, then push it in with both thumbs. It will go 'thunk', then you have to push it in another 1/8th inch or so. it takes a moderate amount of pressure to do it, you will need two thumbs on it to push it in until the contacts are fully seated.

    TA: Yes the screws on the access door are Phillips. They are captured screws, not meant to be separated from the grille.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  4. EvilDoc macrumors 6502a

    EvilDoc

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Circumventing the multi-verse...
    #4
    if it makes you feel any better, installing ram ( in almost any computer ) is one of the EASIEST upgrades.. Dont be afraid to push down on the ram to seat it. if you dont you will have issues when you reboot. Good luck ;)
     
  5. Halcyon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #5
    Thanks for the reply...and yes, it seems pretty straightforward and should have no problem as when I did the first one.

    One more thing. I was thinking it would be best to buy exactly the same brand of memory module...as to to minimize any memory issues. I don't know if this is important with the Intel Mac's and OSX, but it used to be an issue with older models. Maybe I'm being over zelous here :)

    JC
     
  6. NYmacAttack macrumors 6502

    NYmacAttack

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    NY
    #6
    As long as the memory you buy is mac compatible they do not need to be the same brand.
     

Share This Page