Upgrading RAM on new iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by smfinlay, Oct 23, 2012.

  1. smfinlay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Central Florida
    #1
    Looks like it will be much more difficult to upgrade the RAM on the new iMac. From the image that they showed, it looks as if it's right in the middle of the case.
     
  2. ihuman:D macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    It doesn't look like we can upgrade the RAm on the 21.5'' iMac :rolleyes::mad:!
     
  3. boto, Oct 23, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012

    boto macrumors 6502

    boto

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    #3
    I hope you're right. If the new 27" iMac is not user-upgradeable than you can count me out. There is no way I'm going to pay over $1.5k in upgrades for additional GPU boost (680m), i7 CPU, SSD+HDD setup, and ESPECIALLY for soldered ram, if it is.

    Oh never mind, after looking at the Tech Specs of the new iMac, it states it is user accessible so that's great news. I was definitely afraid of paying a premium price for 32GB RAM.
     
  4. blendermf macrumors member

    blendermf

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Location:
    Stratford, ON
    #5
    On the 27" iMac RAM is user replaceable. Also the BTO on the 27" for GPU is 680MX, which should be faster (that chip hasn't technically been released)
     
  5. racher macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    New 27" iMac RAM is user upgradable

    According to the new iMac page on Apple's site, the 27" RAM is upgradable by the user. It doesn't mention anything about the 21" iMac. Scroll down to the very bottom of this page and read the "Memory" paragraph: http://www.apple.com/imac/performance/
     
  6. smfinlay thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Central Florida
    #7
    It looks like the 27" will be user upgradable.

    "8GB (two 4GB) of 1600MHz DDR3 memory; four user-accessible SO-DIMM slots"

    Source: http://www.apple.com/imac/specs/
     
  7. mdgolom macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #8
    It seems odd that the website shows the memory is user upgradable in the 27", but not the 21". Also, the tech specs shows the memory as 1600mhz, isn't it 10600mhz like the current?
     
  8. drambuie, Oct 23, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012

    drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #9
    You're getting memory bandwidth mixed with clock speed. The new iMac's 1600MHz RAM has a bandwidth of 12800 MB/sec. The previous iMac's 1333MHz RAM had a bandwidth of 10664MB/sec, rounded to 10600MB/sec.
     
  9. rezinous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #10
    Win with the user upgradable ram. Buying the new iMac now, since disappointed with the new mini. Might as well max at 32gb with current prices
     
  10. Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    #12
    The current model is 1600 mhz ...
     
  11. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #13
    I also find it odd that the 21.5" is non-user upgradeable for memory...
     
  12. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #14
    I stand corrected. I don't have the current model specs anymore. The 10600 figure is the bandwidth for 1333MHz RAM.
     

Share This Page