Upgrading RAM problems..

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by duhst, Mar 5, 2011.

  1. duhst macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #1
    Hi all!

    Running into a bit of a problem here..
    Here are my MackBooks specs:
    13.3" Macbook / 2.16ghz Core 2 Duo / 1gb DDR2 667MHz / 500gb 7200rpm / Snow Leopard.

    The problem im having is that im trying to upgrade the RAM. I currently have 2x512mb(1gb) RAM. trying to upgrade to at least 2x1gb(2gb) although i read that it can support up to 3gb or 4gb. I recently purchased 2x1gb sticks when i tried to install them both at the same time the computer would not boot, and yes i did read that you need to push them in pretty hard.. and i did!! I then tried just installing one of the new RAMs along with one of the old RAMs and the computer will ONLY boot if the new RAM is in the left slot.. I then checked my system profiler and it shows the new RAM but now both are running at 533MHz.. Im so damn confused i feel like my head is going to explode!

    HELP PLEASE!!!
     
  2. AndyK macrumors 65816

    AndyK

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #2
    Are you sure you bought compatible sticks?

    Run the Crucial memory scanner & see what it shows for what's required. Personally as well I'd go for 4gb.

    Are you able too post which ram you purchased?
     
  3. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #3
    Sounds as if you have bought PC4200 ram instead of PC5300 or PC6400.

    The new ram should tell you the specs on the label.

    Presumably that is why the ram is running at 555MHz and not 667MHz.

    It still should boot and run though
     
  4. duhst thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #4
    I did run the crucial check and I bought the RAM it said...
    the RAM package says:
    Notebook DDR2 PC2-5300
    Compatible with avec/con
    667MHz/533MHz/400MHz
     
  5. duhst thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
  6. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #6
    Does not make much sense.....

    are the 512MB sticks PC4200 by any chance ?

    Double check the labels on the 512MB sticks and also the new Crucial sticks.

    They cannot all be PC5300 (667MHZ)

    Crucial may have sent the wrong sticks.

    What happens if you put a 1GB stick in the left slot and leave the other empty - does it boot (it should) and what speed is the ram running at ?

    Just has to be trial and error to find out what is going on.
     
  7. duhst, Mar 7, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2011

    duhst thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #7
    ok i just looked at my old RAM and it says '512MB 2Rx16 PC2-5300S-555-12'

    I should add that i did not buy the RAM from crucial, I ran the computer check to see what RAM it would need then i went to FRY's electronics and bought them there.

    I also tried to boot the computer with ONLY the new ram in the left slot and it did not boot same when i tried it only in the right slot.
     
  8. duhst thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #8
    I figured I will just return the RAM tomorrow since it has a 15 day return notice. But now I'm scared as to what RAM to buy online...

    I know you can buy them straight from the Crucial but what if that memory doesnt work as well? can i return memory from Crucial?

    Also I would like to get the most out of my RAM and this site here (http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/macbook/stats/macbook-core-2-duo-2.16-white-13-mid-2007-specs.html) says I can put up to 3-4GB. Should I? And is this a reliable site to buy RAM from? http://eshop.macsales.com/MyOWC/Upgrades.cfm?model=265

    sorry for the 101 questions just trying to figure out whats best :)
     
  9. duhst thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Mobile/7E18)

    Help.....?
     
  10. duhst thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Mobile/7E18)

    Help.....?
     
  11. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #11
    I think there is something funny with the ram you bought at Frys - just return it.

    Check what the label says on the ram (or the packaging or the receipt)....

    Sometimes one memory slot fails on MacBooks but yours seems to be ok - at least with the original ram.

    Check for any deals and buy 4GB ram - 2 x 2GB sticks - either PC5300 or PC6400 if they are cheaper.

    The suppliers you have mentioned are all fine - just double check there refund policies !!
     
  12. duhst thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #12
  13. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #13
    That memory will be fine but I am sure you can find it cheaper...
     

Share This Page