Upgrading RAM / SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by roskvist, Jun 24, 2012.

  1. roskvist macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    #1
    I am about to buy some RAM for my MacBookPro 8,2 and i was wondering if you need to re-install your osx ? I dont think that i got a install dvd when i received it. And then i was wondering what you should do if you want to upgrade the SSD?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba, Jun 24, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    If you get a new SSD, you could just clone the old HDD to the new properly formatted SSD and then exchange the HDD for SSD. Below guides might help you there.



    MacBook, MacBook Pro: Replacing the Hard Disk Drive, transferring data to the new HDD

    the guide includes:
    • 0. Identify your MacBook or MacBook Pro
    • 1. Getting a new HDD
    • 2. Guides to replace the internal HDD with a newer one
    • 3. Transferring data from the old HDD to the new HDD
    • 4. Using the optical disk drive (ODD) slot for placing an SSD or HDD inside the MB/P (OPTIBAY)




    No Mac coming with Mac OS X 10.7 Lion or OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion has physical restore media included.

    OS X: About OS X Recovery

    If you want to make a bootable installation medium, you can follow these steps:

     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    No. You simply install the new RAM and boot up.
    OS X Lion: About Lion Recovery
    Apple - OS X Lion Recovery - Introducing Lion Recovery
    Assuming you're talking about the non-retina MBP, you can easily replace your drive with any HDD/SSD that you choose. You can use Carbon Copy Cloner to clone your existing drive to the new one (in an external enclosure), then swap the drives.
     
  4. roskvist thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012

Share This Page