Upgrading Ram

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Maiden24, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. Maiden24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #1
    I have a macbook pro 17inch mid 2010 model, with the i7 processor. I have 4 gb of ram currently. I want to upgrade my ram to 8 gb. (2, 4gb sticks). I called my local apple store and asked them how much would it be to buy it from them and let them install it. The guy tells me $400, i said what, 400? Anyways, i asked him what brand they use, he said kingston. So i looked on kingston's online site i found the right ram for $62. I probably can install it myself. I am pretty sure that's the right one, but can someone give me the specs to look up on amazon, such as ddr3, etc.

    Also, if i bring my own ram will apple put it in/charge? I have apple care.

    Here is the link :
    http://shop.kingston.com/partsinfo.aspx?ktcpartno=KTA-MB1066K2/8G
     
  2. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #2
    FFS, use the search feature! :rolleyes:

    Apple will not install your RAM.

    Kingston is OK, Crucial is OK, G.Skill is OK, etc.
     
  3. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #3
    Are you sure you have a 2010 model? I thought only the 2011's had an i7 chip. Either way, you need 204-pin DDR3 RAM - check prices at Newegg.com, as they're usually very good. For the 2010 you need 1066MHz and for the 2011 you need 1333MHz.

    Also, it's incredibly simple to install so I'd recommend just doing it yourself. It takes 3 minutes, which includes 2 minutes to remove the bottom cover. You just pop the old stuff out and pop the new stuff in, then turn on the computer.
     
  4. Maiden24, Jul 28, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011
  5. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
  6. NZed macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
    #6
    Good you ordered Crucial. I would avoid Kingston.
     
  7. seong macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #7
    Corsair 8GB 1333HMz seems to work like a charm for me :)
     
  8. Smork macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    #8
    There should be a new sticky in this forum with all the recent topics and FAQs. Some of the ones at the top seem a bit dated?
     
  9. Sam2lucky13 macrumors 6502

    Sam2lucky13

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    #9
    same here...on two macs...it was 59 on amazon last week.
     
  10. Maiden24 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #10
    Yea i have the mid 2010 macbook pro 17inch
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page