Upgrading RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by danbrco, Jun 17, 2014.

  1. danbrco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #1
    Hello,

    Just got myself a 15in MacBook Pro 2.0GHz from Apple.

    Is it possible to upgrade the RAM on this, and if so, what RAM does it take? was a spur of the moment purchase so my knowledge is slim on a MacBook!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    If it is a MacBook Pro with Retina Display, no, you cannot change the RAM, since it is soldered onto the logic board. To get more RAM, you can return it and get a model with more RAM.
     
  3. danbrco thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #3
    Thanks for there reply.

    That does suck a little! do you know what the performance speed is like? I am a graphic designer so as long as it can handle CS I will be fine.
     
  4. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #4
    It has 8GB of 1600MHz DDR3 memory. It should be absolutely sufficient for Adobe Illustrator and the other tools for the next few years, unless you are working on very complex projects involving huge content (e.g. 4K video/very big photos). In the later case, you might benefit from 16Gb RAM. I also recommend you to have a look at these benchmarks. They do not detect any difference between the 8Gb vs. 16Gb system, until they start benchmarking a huge (20000 pixels wide) image.
     
  5. danbrco thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #5
    Hopefully it should be more than enough then. I don't work on huge projects other than branding and web design so should be fine. Currently have a modded Mac Mini 2.3 GHz i7 with 16GB RAM and an SSD and it very quick, even when running Football Manager.
     

Share This Page