Upgrading Santa Rosa Late 2007 MacBook help

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by celloman, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. celloman macrumors member

    celloman

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #1
    Can you upgrade the hard drive of the santa rosa macbook? If not why??
     
  2. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #2

    Yes you can upgrade the hard drive in the said MB..



    Just remove the L-bracket under the battery then on the left side pull the lil tab for hard drive .. Remove the hard drive screws from the sled and replace the drive with the new one and reserve the steps..


    Before you do this backup your stuff first ..
     
  3. celloman thread starter macrumors member

    celloman

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #3
    how do you install leopard on the new hard drive? oh ya, it is ummmm. 2.5" SATA drive right?
     
  4. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #4
    Yup 2.5" SATA drive 9.5 mm high ..


    install 1st disc and reboot, hold down C to boot off of the CD .. install from there..



    But i'll probably forgot a step or two but people will correct my steps ..
     
  5. celloman thread starter macrumors member

    celloman

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #5
    basically i am getting a new macbook, upgrading to 4 GB of ram, and updating the hard drive.
     
  6. celloman thread starter macrumors member

    celloman

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
  7. celloman thread starter macrumors member

    celloman

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #7
    ummm wat happens when you turn on a computer with a no os hard drive? wat do u mean by this?
     
  8. Jason S. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #8
    It won't boot. You need to install the OS on the hard drive before you can actually use the computer.
    You can use the Install Discs that came with the computer or a Retail Install Disc that you bought on your own.
     
  9. celloman thread starter macrumors member

    celloman

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #9
    do you basically turn on the computer and put the disc in?
     
  10. nikhsub1 macrumors 68010

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #10
    Yes boot from the DVD that came with the machine... once you boot to the DVD, you will need to go to disk utility and format the new HD to Extended (Journaled). Then just install the system.
     

Share This Page