Upgrading Skype for Mac

Discussion in 'macOS' started by joshua_msu, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. joshua_msu macrumors regular

    joshua_msu

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    chicago (formerly detroit)
    #1
    When downloading the new version to upgrade an old one, is the new one installed on top of the old version, or is it just upgraded? Simply put, should I delete the old version and then install the new, or is this unnecessary? Hard drive space is at a premium, which is why I ask.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    If you are putting it in the same folder as the old one, the new one will replace the old one.

    You won't have two versions, just the new one.
     
  3. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
  4. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #4
    copy the new one into the applications folder, and it'll copy over the old one.
     
  5. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    When you copy the application to the location of the original application, it will copy over the original application and in turn, upgrade the application.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    I remember some mention ages ago that there were a few applications that would get corrupted because of how Finder handles overwriting.

    I tend to delete my applications first then get the new update. Maybe the newer versions of Sparkle handle that without any problems.
     
  7. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    I haven't had any issues, but that is just my experience.
     

Share This Page