Upgrading SSD firmware on Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by LEOMODE, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. LEOMODE macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    Hi, I have Plextor M5 Pro 512GB SSD.

    I've downloaded the latest firmware from Plextor website but unfortunately it will only run from Windows. (.exe file)

    So I have Boot Camp and I have ran the firmware file. But it didn't get updated. Based on my feeling, I guess the BIOS has to be on a PC settings as well.

    So how can I update my firmware from Mac Pro? Since it doesn't have BIOS like PC and it has EFI, is upgrading anything that required BIOS cannot be upgraded from Mac machines?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #2
    It's an ISO, not an exe. Just burn it to CDR and then boot from it.
     
  3. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #3
    When I updated my OCZ SSD I think I remember something about not being able to update the firmware on the drive you booted from. This is a security feature in the Mac firmware I think.

    You will need to boot into Windows from a different drive and then run the firmware update that your SSD needs.
     
  4. LEOMODE thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Thanks, just to confirm so on my EFI screen on my Mac when I first turn on the computer, run the ISO firmware update CD that I burnt?

    ----------

    Hmm, so you're saying that I need to have 2 set of harddrives which both include the Windows OS?
     
  5. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #5
    That's correct, or you can hold the "C" key at boot time.

    Then follow the instructions in plextor's pdf.



    ----------



    No. When you boot from the ISO your Mac is running FreeDOS from the CDROM and so the SSD is available for updating.
     
  6. kevink2 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #6
    I wanted to upgrade the firmware on my SSD recently on my 08. Something is acting up in the settings, I could not boot off of the CD. Ended up taking the drive out, plugging it into a Linux system, and booting off the CD there.

    I had a problem several months ago where I had to reset the PVRAM because I couldn't boot anything. Which was a pain in my case since I had to remove the battery before I could reset it. I didn't want to go through that again, easier to take the drive out.
     
  7. LEOMODE thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    Thanks!as youve said i burnt the image to cd and booted it from efi screen :) and it got patched!
     

Share This Page